News Archive

Visit the Arctic Calendar

14 January 2020
Arctic Calendar

ARCUS' Arctic Calendar is an online, searchable calendar of major meetings and events relevant to the arctic science, education, and policy communities. It serves as a community resource for tracking and publicizing major Arctic events and conferences, and to help avoid conflicting meeting dates. It is updated daily.

We encourage anyone organizing a meeting, seminar, or webinar to submit the event for inclusion on the calendar. We also welcome other Arctic organizations to link to the Arctic Calendar. Events can be submitted through the online form at: http://www.arcus.org/events/arctic-calendar/submit or by emailing calendar [at] arcus.org

Underwater Encounter with Weddell Seals

9 January 2020
Underwater Encounter with Weddell Seals

Join Weddell seals in the icy cold waters of Antarctica in this video by PolarTREC Teacher Bridget Ward. Watch the video!

Arctic Research Seminar Series with Jeffrey Brooks

2 January 2020
Arctic Research Seminar Series

ARCUS invites registration for our next Arctic Research Seminar featuring Jeffrey Brooks, Social Scientist at the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM). This seminar, titled “Science and Traditional Knowledge in Decision-Making: A Federal Agency Shares its Experience in Alaska,” will be held Tuesday, 7 January 2020, 10:00 a.m. AKST (2:00 p.m. EST) online via Zoom.

Witness Community Highlights

23 December 2019
Witness Community Highlights

The December 2019 issue of Witness Community Highlights is now available online. This issue includes two articles: “The Future Shape of the Greenland Geodetic Network,” an NSF-funded Research Networking Activity (RNA) that aims to make data from this series of global navigation satellite system installations more accessible and to foster innovative research and “Permafrost Discovery Gateway: A New Online Platform Supporting Knowledge-Generation from Big Imagery” an NSF-funded project that will create pan-Arctic data products and provide easy access and discovery of these large datasets through visualization tools accessible through an interactive web browser.

Polar Technology Call for Abstracts

20 December 2019
Polar Technology Call for Abstracts

The Polar Technology Conference is planned for 10–12 March 2020 in Boulder, Colorado. The goal of the meeting is to link experts in polar science and technology development to discuss current technological resources for polar research and identify barriers to research and application of technology for problems unique to polar regions. Abstract submission is open until 24 January 2020, 5:00 p.m. Alaska time.

Happy Holidays!

20 December 2019
Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays from all of us at ARCUS! We look forward to doing great work in the new year!

Celebrate Antarctica Day with ARCUS!

10 December 2019
Celebrate Antarctica Day with ARCUS!

ARCUS will be celebrating Antarctica Day by hosting a LIVE, real-time event with PolarTREC educator Jocelyn Argueta from the South Pole Station in Antarctica. This event will take place on Friday, December 13, 2019 at 8:10 AM Alaska Standard Time [9:10 AM PST, 10:10 AM MST, 11:10 AM CST, 12:10 PM EST]. Learn more about Jocelyn’s adventures at the South Pole here.

ARCUS at the American Geophysical Union

6 December 2019
ARCUS at the American Geophysical Union

Join the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS) at the American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fall Meeting, held 9-13 December 2019 in San Francisco, California.

ARCUS staff and board members hope to see many of our colleagues and friends—and meet new ones—at the ARCUS-related events at AGU this year!

A list of other Arctic-related events and sessions taking place during the AGU Fall Meeting is available through the ARCUS website.

Witness the Arctic

2 December 2019
Witness the Arctic

This issue includes a summary of NSF’s FY2020 solicitation for Navigating the New Arctic (NNA); a call for community input on development of the IARPC Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026; Arctic Data Center news about a new semantic search product; news about the recently funded International Permafrost Coastal Systems Network; news from U.S. Arctic GEOTRACES of a novel public outreach program; Arctic social science focused articles about recommendations to protect the ecosystem habitat in Bristol Bay, a cross-cultural collaboration effort to improve Native Alaskan wellbeing, and a school-based sled-building project in eastern Greenland; updates on the SEARCH program, the Arctic Indigenous Scholars program, the PolarTREC program, the Sea Ice Prediction Network–Phase 2 project, and plans for the 2020 Polar Technology Conference; comments from ARCUS board members and Interim Executive Director Helen Wiggins; and a highlight of ARCUS member institution, the Alaska Ocean Observing System (AOOS).

Celebrate Antarctica Day with ARCUS!

2 December 2019
Celebrate Antarctica Day with ARCUS!

CANCELLED
NOTE: This event has been cancelled due to lack of satellite availability. There is a possibility that it could be rescheduled. We'll announce it on the website, if that happens. Thanks for your patience and interest!

ARCUS will be celebrating Antarctica Day by hosting a LIVE, real-time event with PolarTREC educator Jocelyn Argueta from the South Pole Station in Antarctica. Learn more about Jocelyn’s adventures at the South Pole here.

Arctic Research Funders Meet & Greet

25 November 2019

On Tuesday, 10 December 2019 from 3:00-5:00pm, please join ARCUS and IARPC Collaborations for our 2nd Arctic Funders Meet & Greet networking event at Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, CA. This special event will provide an informal opportunity for Arctic researchers to connect in-person with multiple agency program officers to gain insight into each organization’s Arctic research funding interests and opportunities. There is no cost to participate and you do not have to be registered for the AGU Fall Meeting to attend.

SIPN2 Sea Ice Community Open Meeting

22 November 2019
SIPN2

Please join the Sea Ice Prediction Network - Phase 2 (SIPN2) for a Sea Ice Community Open Meeting on Tuesday, 10 December 2019 from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. (PST) in the ARCUS Arctic Community Meeting Room: Monterrey I — Hotel Nikko San Francisco, located at 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA.

All attendees are invited to participate in a fast-paced round-robin session to share information about related efforts and/or needs for input. A PowerPoint template is available, for those who want to share information in a slide format, upon request.

Arctic Research Seminar Series with Jeffrey Brooks

21 November 2019
Arctic Research Seminar Series

ARCUS invites registration for our next Arctic Research Seminar featuring Jeffrey Brooks (Bureau of Ocean Energy Management). This seminar, titled “Science and Traditional Knowledge in Decision-Making: A Federal Agency Shares its Experience in Alaska,” will be held Wednesday, 4 December 2019 from 9:30-10:30 a.m. AKST (1:30-2:30 p.m. EST) online via Zoom.

Arctic Research Community Reception

14 November 2019
Arctic Research Community Reception

Please join us Wednesday, 11 December from 7:30-9:00pm (Pacific Time) for a special Arctic Research Community Networking Reception being held at the Hotel Nikko (222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102, Monterey I & II) in San Francisco, CA. An ARCUS member affiliation is not required to attend and there is no cost to participate. However, advance registration is encouraged.

Arctic Community Meeting Rooms Available During the AGU Fall Meeting

12 November 2019
Arctic Community Meeting Rooms Available during the AGU Fall Meeting

ARCUS will be hosting Arctic Community Meeting Rooms during the American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fall Meeting 2019 in San Francisco, California. Meeting space is available, by reservation, in one- to two-hour blocks for groups working on Arctic research and/or education activities. The meeting rooms will be located at the Hotel Nikko San Francisco and are available free of charge.

The Arctic Community Meeting Rooms are funded by the National Science Foundation's Division of Polar Programs to encourage collaboration and facilitate face-to-face meetings of opportunity.

Join Us for TWO PolarConnect Events in Late November!

6 November 2019
PolarTREC educator Denise Hardoy and Amy Osborne

PolarTREC educator Denise Hardoy will be live on Wednesday, 20 November at 8:15 AM AKST (9:15 AM PST, 10:15 AM MST, 11:15 AM CST, 12:15 PM EST) to discuss her experience on the team studying Antarctic Fish Development Under Future Ocean Conditions. You can read more about what Denise is learning here.

Educator Amy Osborne will be presenting about her research experience at McMurdo Station on Friday, 22 November at 8:30 AM AKST (9:30 AM PST, 10:30 AM MST, 11:30 AM CST, 12:30 PM EST). Amy is working on the team researching Thermal Sensitivity of Embryos and Larvae of Antarctic Marine Ectotherms.

PolarTREC Live Event from McMurdo Station, Antarctica

29 October 2019
PolarTREC Live Event from McMurdo Station, Antarctica

Join us for an upcoming PolarConnect event with educator Bridget Ward and the Weddell Seals: Growing Up on Ice Team. This event will broadcast live from McMurdo Station, Antarctica on Monday, 4 November 2019 at 8:30 AM Alaska Standard Time (9:30 AM PST, 10:30 AM MST, 11:30 AM CST, 12:30 PM EST). Register today!

ARCUS Seeks Executive Director

29 October 2019
ARCUS Seeks Executive Director

ARCUS seeks an Executive Director to continue our important work of increasing opportunities for collaboration across the broad Arctic research community. Responsibilities will include leadership and advocacy for the organization, management of projects and initiatives, financial oversight, staff supervision, support of the Board of Directors, and oversight of strategic planning efforts. Applications are due by 5:00 pm AKT on 15 November 2019.

Arctic Research Seminar Series with Anna Liljedahl

28 October 2019
Arctic Research Seminar Series

ARCUS invites registration for our next Arctic Research Seminar featuring Anna Liljedahl (University of Alaska Fairbanks). This seminar, titled “Permafrost Hydrology Discoveries and Opportunities”, will be held Friday, 1 November 2019 from 10:00-11:00 a.m. AKDT (2:00-3:00 p.m. EDT) online via Zoom.

Witness Community Highlights

18 October 2019
Witness Community Highlights

The October 2019 issue of Witness Community Highlights is now available online. This issue includes an article “Widespread Permafrost Degradation in the Canadian High Arctic at 80°N,” summarizing results from a recent study that suggest complex causes to the rapid increases in signs of permafrost instability in the polar desert of the high Arctic.