News Archive

Arctic Research Seminar Recording

16 February 2018

A recording is now available of the ARCUS D.C. Arctic Research seminar/webinar featuring featuring Marlene Laruelle (George Washington University). The presentation discusses the dominant role that domestic factors play in Russia's foreign policy stances for the Arctic.

Witness Community Highlights

31 January 2018
Witness Community Highlights

The January 2018 issue of Witness Community Highlights is now available online. This issue includes an article summarizing key highlights from the recently released Sea Ice Outlook (SIO) 2017 Post-Season Report that includes discussion of 2017 Arctic weather and ice conditions; the Outlook contributions and methodologies; and sea ice extent probability maps; and an article about the Leadership and Strength project, which draws upon engaged community-based research approaches to examine community strength and well-being and focuses on the pathways that women, men, and families forge to live well in Utqiaġvik, Alaska (formerly known as Barrow).

Arctic Research Seminar Recording

25 January 2018
Roberto Delgado & Andrea Horvath Marques

A recording is now available of the ARCUS D.C. Arctic Research seminar/webinar featuring Roberto Delgado (NIH/NIMH) & Andrea Horvath Marques (NIH/NIMH). The presentation discusses NIMH-supported research and other activities that aim to improve the mental health and wellbeing of Arctic residents.

Empowering Indigenous Scholars and Making Connections – Call for Applicants

22 January 2018
Photo by Mark Goldner (PolarTREC 2011)

To empower Indigenous scholars and provide a key opportunity for officials at U.S. government agencies, non-governmental organizations, and other groups working on Arctic issues to learn and integrate information/perspectives from multiple Arctic knowledge systems, ARCUS and ICC Alaska invite applications from and/or nominations of leading Arctic Indigenous scholars to travel to Washington D.C. Scholars are defined as experts within their own knowledge systems—no formal education is required. While the selected Arctic Indigenous Scholars are in D.C., ARCUS and ICC Alaska will facilitate meetings with officials at relevant U.S. government agencies, non-governmental organizations, and other groups, where such scholars will be able to share their interests via a seminar and meetings, learn of available resources, build toward collaborative relationships, and provide on-the-ground perspectives to key decision-makers.

Applications are due Thursday, 15 February 2018

Sea Ice Outlook

17 January 2018
Sea Ice Outlook

The Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN) announces availability of the 2017 Arctic Sea Ice Outlook (SIO) Post-Season Report. The report includes reviews of the 2017 Arctic conditions, the melt season, contributions to the 2017 SIO monthly reports, as well as discussions of the statistical methods and local-scale analysis of 2017 Sea Ice Outlooks. The report also includes discussion of contributions to the call for forecasts of the Antarctic maxima, and discussion of the beginning of the Sea Ice Drift Forecast Experiment (SIDFEx), which is a contribution to the Year of Polar Prediction (YOPP).

Arctic Sea Ice Workshop

11 January 2018
Photo by Maggie Prevenas

An open "Arctic Sea Ice Prediction Stakeholders Workshop" will be held on Monday, 22 January 2018 in conjunction with the Arctic Frontiers Conference in Tromso, Norway. This workshop will bring together sea ice stakeholders and forecasters to:
1) Assess the value of forecasts by the user community.
2) Determine if and how ice forecasts are currently being used in decision making.
3) Communicate the relevant metrics needed by various stakeholders.
4) Identify where improvements in sea ice forecasts would help stakeholders make decisions.
5) Communicate the limits and opportunities of current forecasting systems.

Happy Holidays

22 December 2017
Holiday card with ARCUS staff signatures

Happy Holidays from all of us at ARCUS & we look forward to doing great work in the new year!

PolarTREC and PEI at the AGU Fall Meeting

7 December 2017

Join PolarTREC and Polar Educators International (PEI) at the upcoming Fall Meeting of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), held 11-15 December 2017 in New Orleans, Louisiana!

The AGU Fall Meeting brings together scientists from all over the world to share, discover, and engage in science discussions. ARCUS will be hosting a community meeting room, an annual membership meeting, and a reception.

PolarTREC alumni will be attending and sharing their experiences at various poster and oral sessions.

For those interested in polar education, Polar Educators International (PEI) will be hosting a PEI Meeting on Tuesday, 12 December 2017; 5:00pm – 6:30pm CST at the Hyatt New Orleans Convention Center in the coffee/bar lounge area. For more information about PEI activities, contact Betsy Wilkening, ewilkening99 [at] gmail.com.

Witness the Arctic

1 December 2017
Witness the Arctic

The Fall 2017 issue of Witness the Arctic is now published online. This issue includes a summary of the NSF Vision for Research Support and Logistics at Summit Stations and announcement of the NSF Arctic Sciences Program Town Hall during the 2017 AGU Fall meetings; a highlight of recent community-based research on the health and wellbeing of Alaska Native Elderly; Sea Ice Prediction Network news; discussion of the Study of Environmental Arctic Change (SEARCH) program’s syntheses and communication efforts; results from a workshop that examined relationships between research and Alaskan Indigenous communities; updated information on the Agreement to Enhance International Arctic Scientific Cooperation with the newly-released map; results from an international workshop on maritime traffic in the Bering Strait; news from IARPC and the Polar Research Board; highlights from the 2017 Joint Science Education Project, international news from IASC, the Year of Polar Prediction project, and the Greenland Ecological Monitoring Program; a summary of recent ARCUS activities; and comments from ARCUS Executive Director, Robert Rich.

Celebrate Antarctica Day

27 November 2017
Photo by Kate Miller

Join us for a special international day of activities including a live event from the South Pole Station, Antarctica with PolarTREC teacher Lesley Anderson. The presentation will focus on the history of the Antarctica Treaty and how it relates to science conducted at the South Pole, in particular with the IceCube project. Additional Antarctica Day activities as well as the virtual balloon launch can be found at Our Spaces.

Event Time: Monday, 4 December 2017 at 9:30am AKST [10:30am PST, 11:30am MST, 12:30pm CST, 1:30pm EST] in North America.

Sea Ice Prediction Network Open Meeting on 12 December 2017

14 November 2017

The Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN) announces an open meeting on Tuesday, 12 December from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. (CST) in New Orleans, Louisiana, during the 2017 American Geophysical Union (AGU) fall meetings. This meeting will provide: a discussion of the 2017 Arctic sea ice/Sea Ice Outlook season, an overview of the recently-funded "SIPN 2" project and collaborations, and opportunity for discussion and to share information on related efforts. A boxed lunch will be provided for meeting participants who RSVP by Friday, 1 December 2017. For questions and to RSVP, contact Betsy Turner-Bogren, ARCUS (betsy [at] arcus.org).

Community Meeting Rooms at AGU

9 November 2017

ARCUS announces the availability of community meeting space at the fall meeting of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), held 11-15 December 2017 in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Arctic Community Meeting Rooms are hosted by ARCUS to encourage collaboration and to facilitate face-to-face meetings of opportunity, and is funded by the National Science Foundation's Division of Polar Programs. Meeting space is available in one or two-hour blocks for groups working on Arctic research and/or education activities.

PolarTREC Live Event from McMurdo Station, Antarctica

6 November 2017
Photo by Dena Rosenberger

Connect to the Antarctic! Join us for an upcoming PolarConnect event with George Hademenos and the Antarctic Automatic Weather Stations on Thursday, 9 November 2017 at 9:00am AKST (10am PST, 11am MST, 12pm CST, 1pm EST) This event will be broadcast live from McMurdo Station, Antarctica. Register today!

Witness Community Highlights

31 October 2017
Witness Community Highlights

The October 2017 issue of Witness Community Highlights is now available. This online publication highlights Arctic research efforts and other timely items of interest to our readers. The October issue includes an article discussing the legally binding "Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation” signed by the eight member states of the Arctic Council on 11 May 2017 at the Arctic Council Ministerial meeting in Fairbanks, Alaska. The goal of this science agreement is to facilitate access, whether to territory and research areas, platforms, infrastructure, facilities, materials, samples, data, or equipment.

Arctic Research Seminar Series Registration

30 October 2017
Leadership and Strength Project Final Report Cover

Registration is now available for the next ARCUS Arctic Research seminar/webinar featuring Courtney Carothers (University of Alaska Fairbanks) and Laura Zanotti (Purdue University). The presentation will discuss the co-production of knowledge and community-researcher relationships in the Leadership and Strength Project in Utqiaġvik (Barrow), Alaska. The event will be held Thursday, 30 November from 12:00-1:00pm EDT. Registration is required for both the live event, held at the ARCUS D.C. office, and online webinar.

PolarTREC Live Event with Teacher Dave Jones

24 October 2017

Join PolarTREC for an upcoming event with teacher Dave Jones and researcher Mike DeGrandpre who will discuss the research carried out aboard the CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent on CO2 and pH studies in the Beaufort Sea. This live event will be held on Wednesday, 1 November 2017 at 1:00pm AKDT (2pm PDT, 3pm MDT, 4pm CDT, 5pm EDT). Register for this free event today!

Call for Nominations: ARCUS Board of Directors

23 October 2017

ARCUS announces a call for nominations for our 2017 Board of Directors election. There are a possible four seats up for election in a vote of the ARCUS membership expected to take place in December 2017. We seek nominations of candidates with enthusiasm and time to dedicate to ARCUS, who are willing and able to help ARCUS fulfill its vision and mission, and achieve its organizational goals and objectives (see https://www.arcus.org/arcus). We particularly invite nominations of individuals with experience in and connections to industry, foundations, or Arctic Indigenous groups.

Nomination submission deadline: Wednesday, 1 November 2017

PolarTREC Live Event from McMurdo Station, Antarctica

19 October 2017

Connect to the the Antarctic! Join PolarTREC for an upcoming event with Jennifer Bault and the team working on Seasonal Ice Production in the Ross Sea on Thursday, 2 November 2017 at 6:30am AKDT (7:30am PDT, 8:30am MDT, 9:30am CDT, 10:30am EDT). This event will be broadcast live from McMurdo Station, Antarctica. Register today for this free event!

Conducting Research with Northern Communities Webpage

10 October 2017
Photo by John Wood

ARCUS announces availability of a new web resource, Conducting Research with Northern Communities – Documented Practices and Resources for Productive, Respectful Relationships Between Researchers and Community Members. Scientific research in the Arctic necessitates good communication and cooperation with northern communities. This new webpage is a compilation of resources, recommendations, and documented practices from a variety of organizations on working with northern communities. Resources include practices from across the north, relevant information from outside the Arctic, and resources specific to community-based monitoring.

Witness Community Highlights

29 September 2017
Witness Community Highlights

The September 2017 issue of Witness Community Highlights is now available. This online publication, a companion to the regular publications of Witness the Arctic, highlights Arctic research efforts and other timely items of interest to our readers. This issue includes an article discussing the indication, based on analysis of oxygen-18 isotopes sequestered in Pacific cod ear bones from contemporary and archaeological sites on Alaska’s Kenai Peninsula, that ocean temperatures in the Gulf of Alaska today are about 3 degrees celsius warmer than they were during the late Little Ice Age (LIA) two centuries ago.