Beringia Days 2023
23–25 October 2023
Captain Cook Hotel
Anchorage, Alaska


Beringia Days 2023

Beringia Days 2023 gathered National Park Service (NPS) Shared Beringian Heritage Program (SBHP) Cooperative Agreement associates, Indigenous Peoples of the Beringian Geographic Region, researchers, and partners to meet and connect.

The event was organized by the Arctic Research Consortium of the US (ARCUS), in partnership with NPS.

The National Park Service’s Shared Beringian Heritage Program was founded in 1991 to conserve the unique natural resources and cultural heritage of the region known as Beringia and to foster understanding and appreciation of this region. Since 1997, SBHP has held the Beringia Days Meeting to foster closer collaborations between our communities, tradition bearers, artists, protected area managers, and scholars. The last meeting was held in Anadyr, Russia in 2013.

Photo credit: Walrus photo on right by Clarence Irrigoo Jr. - Gambell, Alaska (2022)


The final agenda is available below.

Beringia Days 2023 Final Agenda (PDF - 93 KB)


For any questions or for more information, please contact Stacey Stoudt, ARCUS, at stacey [at]

70 participants attended this event.

David Alberg
National Park Service
Don Anderson
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Evguenia Anichtchenko
Nicole Braem
Bering Land Bridge Natl Preserve
David Bustos
White Sands National Park
Dr. David M. Cairns
Texas A&M University
Annie Carlson
National Park Service
Benjamin Charles
Inuit Circumpolar Council
Linda Chisholm
National Park Service
Amy J. Craver
Denali National Park and Preserve
Emily Creek
National Park Service, Western Arctic National Parklands
Sarah Crowley
Education Specialist/Guide
Rudy D'Alessandro
U.S. National Park Service
Eric DeChaine
Kelly Eningowuk
Inuit Circumpolar Council Alaska
Ana C. Garcia
Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park
Ted Goebel
University of Kansas
Kelsey Griffin
National Park Service-Ocean Alaska Science and Learning Center
Michael Hannam
Ann Harding
Seabird Youth Network
Dr. Grant V. Hilderbrand
National Park Service
Amy Holman
NOAA Alaska Regional Collaboration Team
Yongsong Huang
Brown University
Stefanie M Ickert-Bond
Herbarium (ALA), University of Alaska Museum of the North & Department of Biology and Wildlife, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Theresa John
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Erik Johnson
National Park Service
Justin Junge
National Park Service
Luda Kinok
Jeanette Koelsch
National Park Service
Michael Koskey
Center for Cross-Cultural Studies, Indigenous Studies Graduate Programs, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Elisabeth Kruger
World Wildlife Fund
Yoko Kugo
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Deb Kurtz
Chris Kutsch
Denali Tour Guide
Amy Larsen
National Park Service
James P. Lawler
National Park Service
Maija K. Lukin
National Park Service
Christopher Marianetti
Found Sound Nation
Jacob Martin
National Park Service - Shared Beringian Heritage Program
Rachel Mason
National Park Service
Ms. Vera K. Metcalf
Eskimo Walrus Commission
Celia Miller
Apollo Naff
InPerpetual Motion
Matthew O'Leary
USDOI Bureau of Indian Affairs ANCSA Office
Nicholas Parlato
Aaron Poe
Aleutian Bering Sea Initiative
Mr. Bryce Zebulon Polly
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.
Mille Porslid
Go North!
Mr. Jeffrey Rasic
National Park Service
Dr. Martin Robards
Wildlife Conservation Society
Yereth Rosen
Alaska Beacon
Suzanne Sanders
Katmai National Park
Jody Seitz
Travis Shinabarger
Arctic Slope Regional Corporation (ASRC)
Harriet Siegrist
National Park Service
Burton Smith
Bristol Bay Historical Society Museum
Rhonda Sparks
Alaska Nannut Co-Management Council
Stacey Stoudt
Pavel Sulandziga
Kitrea Takata-Glushkoff
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Matthew Tucker
Congressional Office for International Leadership
Dr. Mary Turnipseed
Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Yaari Walker
Cook Inlet Tribal Council
Tandy Wallack
Circumpolar Expeditions
Ken Wallack
Circumpolar Expeditions
Janet Warburton
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.
Helen V. Wiggins
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
Sveta Yamin-Pasternak
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Eduard Zdor
University of Alaska Museum of the North
Liliya Zdor