ARCUS Early Career Conference Funding Award


Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

The Arctic Research Consortium of the US (ARCUS) announces the Early Career Conference Funding Award to support up to twenty, US-based, early career researchers and students to participate in meetings and events relevant to Arctic research. In lieu of full travel grants during 2020/21, these funding awards will cover registration fees, session/abstract submission costs, and other relevant expenses related to virtual conference attendance (recognizing that many events have moved online or may be forced to do so) for one conference or event scheduled to take place through 31 May 2021. This award aims to increase participation of early career, underrepresented minorities (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color; BIPOC) in Arctic research by providing at least half of the awards to BIPOC students and early career researchers. This award is for conference attendance and participation—submitting an abstract will be optional.

The deadline for submitting an award application is 5:00pm Alaska time, 1 November 2020. Award notifications are anticipated to be announced during the week of 16 November 2020.

Funding for these awards is made possible through the National Science Foundation's Arctic Sciences Section (PLR #1928794).

Qualifications and Requirements

  • Applicants should be early-career, defined for this award as a student (graduate or undergraduate) or within six years of terminal degree. No Arctic education or experience is required.

  • Applicants should be US-based (US citizenship not required).

  • Intended conference should be virtual, have Arctic-relevant sessions/themes (of any discipline), and occur before 31 May 2021.

  • Eligible expenses include conference registration, abstract/session submission fees, and other relevant expenses upon approval, which can be paid directly by ARCUS or reimbursed (receipt required).

  • Awardees will provide a brief, written summary of experience (100-200 words) following attendance.

Applications - CLOSED

The application period for the 2020 opportunity closed at 5:00 pm Alaska time, 1 November 2020. Successful applicants will be selected by a volunteer selection committee and notified during late November. The award is expected to continue in 2021. Please follow ARCUS social media and check our webpage for announcements for this and other opportunities!

For questions, please contact Lisa Sheffield Guy, ARCUS at lisa [at]

If you're new to Arctic research and aren't sure where to look for a relevant conference or meeting, please visit our Arctic Calendar to find Arctic events and meetings happening between now and 31 May 2021.

Arctic Calendar

2020 Early Career Conference Funding Award Selection Committee

Lavanaya Ashokkumar, University of Arizona
Claire Griffin, University of Virginia
Julie Loisel, Texas A & M University
Josephine-Mary Sam, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Lisa Sheffield Guy, Arctic Research Consortium of the US
Stacey Stoudt, Arctic Research Consortium of the US
Jiake Zhou, University of Alaska Fairbanks