Upcoming Events

Climate Change and the Future Generations
When: 
Tue, 11/12/2019 to Wed, 11/13/2019
Where: 
Rovaniemi, Finland

The Rovaniemi Arctic Spirit Conference, fourth in a series, focuses on climate change in the Arctic, especially from the point of view of young people. The conference wants the voices of the future generations to be heard.

We no longer need to prove that Arctic climate change is a fact. Instead, we need to talk about what it really means for the future. For this reason, young people have an important role in the conference, says Markku Heikkilä, Head of Science Communications of the Arctic Centre, who coordinates the event preparations.

When: 
Wed, 11/13/2019 to Fri, 11/15/2019
Where: 
Rovaniemi, Finland

The Arctic Leaders’ Summit (ALS) is a unique, longstanding forum in which Indigenous Peoples from across the Arctic set their own priorities for discussion, bridge differences, and create common understanding particularly on matters related to the Arctic environment. In addition to the Permanent Participants, other prominent Arctic Indigenous leaders, Arctic States and Observers to the Arctic Council are invited to attend.

When: 
Thu, 11/14/2019 to Fri, 11/15/2019
Where: 
Arctic Centre, University of Lapland, Rovaniemi, Finland

What is left of development in the Arctic? Is sustainable development a utopia in the Arctic? Is development in the Arctic more unsustainable than sustainable? Sustainable development, a popular idea of balanced, equal and participatory development, dominates the debates about the region. Even research about the region often takes sustainable development as a starting point. However, the progress towards reaching this goal seems slow and sustainable development unreachable.

Presenter: Dr. Ryan Hardy, National Geodetic Survey
When: 
Thu, 11/14/2019
Where: 
Online: 10:00-11:00am AKST, 2:00-3:00pm EST

Abstract:

When: 
Mon, 11/18/2019 to Fri, 11/22/2019
Where: 
Helsinki, Finland

We are pleased to announce that the Third Polar Data Forum (PDF III) will be hosted by the Finnish Meteorological Institute at thair Dynamicum campus in Helsinki. PDF III will be co-organized with regional partners including the INTAROS project in conjunction with the EU Arctic Cluster, the Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, and other European organizations.

When: 
Tue, 11/19/2019 to Thu, 11/21/2019
Where: 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada

The Yellowknife Geoscience Forum provides an intimate setting for delegates from industry, academia, and government to exchange information on Mineral and Petroleum Exploration, Mining Activities, and Geoscience Research in Canada’s North. The Forum consists of a trade show and a technical program.

When: 
Wed, 11/20/2019
Where: 
Online: 9:15 AM AKST (10:15 AM PST, 11:15 AM MST, 12:15 PM CST, 1:15 PM EST)

Live event from McMurdo Station in Antarctica with teacher Denise Hardoy and the team researching Antarctic Fish Development Under Future Ocean Conditions. Denise and researcher Anne Todgham will discuss their current fieldwork and observations related to their research.

We request that all participants pre-register to join PolarConnect live events. Anyone with an e-mail address can register, and registration and participation is free.

When: 
Fri, 11/22/2019
Where: 
Online: 8:30 AM AKST (9:30 AM PST, 10:30 AM MST, 11:30 AM CST, 12:30 PM EST)

Join us for our third live event in November from McMurdo Station with educator Amy Osborne and the team researching Thermal Sensitivity of Embryos and Larvae of Antarctic Marine Ectotherms. Educator Amy Osborne and researcher Amy Moran will talk about their current fieldwork and observations in Antarctica.

Speaking: Rick Thoman, Alaska Center for Climate Assessment & Policy (ACCAP)
When: 
Fri, 11/22/2019
Where: 
University of Alaska Fairbanks, or online: 12:00pm AKST, 4:00pm EST

The tools and techniques for making monthly and season scale climate forecasts are rapidly changing, with the potential to provide useful forecasts at the month and longer range. We will review recent climate conditions around Alaska, review some forecast tools and finish up the Climate Prediction Center's forecast for December 2019 and the late winter season. Feel free to bring your lunch and join the gathering in person or online to learn more about Alaska climate and weather.

Available online or in-person at: Room 407 in the Akasofu Building on the UAF Campus in Fairbanks.

When: 
Mon, 11/25/2019
Where: 
Brussels, Belgium

Arctic Futures aims at creating discussions and exchanges between participants with different backgrounds and perspectives over the challenges and issues the Arctic is facing.

This year's symposium will focus on the challenges the Arctic Council will face in the coming years, safety and security issues, gender considerations, the Arctic labour force and demographics, and the Arctic bioeconomy. The symposium promises to deliver lively discussions on each of topics topics.