Past Events

Visualizing Climate Change: A Quick Guide to Online Tools from the Scenarios Network for Alaska and Arctic Planning
When: 
Tue, 07/17/2018
Where: 
Available online or in-person at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, 407 IARC/Akasofu building

Nancy Fresco, SNAP Coordinator

SNAP offers online tools to allow you to view models and maps showing changes in temperature, precipitation, fire, sea ice, extreme events and other variables at the community or regional level. Join us to see what's available, and what's new.

Available online or in-person at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, 407 IARC/Akasofu building, 10:00am AKDT, 2:00pm EDT.

More information and registration at the link above.

Advancing Predictability of Sea Ice
When: 
Tue, 07/10/2018
Where: 
Online: 9:00 am AKDT (10:00 am PDT, 11:00 am MDT, 12:00 pm CDT, and 1:00 EDT)

The Sea Ice Prediction Network–Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces an open webinar titled “Advancing Predictability of Sea Ice” to provide an overview of its main activities and an overview of the SIPN Data Portal for sea ice prediction.

This webinar is designed for the sea ice research community and others interested in advancements in sea ice prediction. While this is an open event, attendees should be aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature.

Webinar Speakers:

When: 
Sat, 06/23/2018 to Sun, 07/01/2018
Where: 
Chamonix-Mont Blanc, France

We will be pleased to welcome you at the foot of the Mont Blanc for the 5th European Conference On Permafrost (EUCOP5). Our agenda will be the following:

When: 
Mon, 06/25/2018 to Fri, 06/29/2018
Where: 
Houston, Texas

The International Conference on Environmental Science and Technology 2018 sponsored by the American Academy of Sciences will be held on in Houston, Texas, USA. The conference will provide a multidisciplinary platform for environmental scientists, engineers, management professionals and government regulators to discuss the latest developments in environmental research and applications.

A SCAR/IASC Conference
When: 
Fri, 06/15/2018 to Tue, 06/26/2018
Where: 
Davos, Switzerland

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research SCAR and the International Arctic Science Committee IASC invite the international polar and high altitude community to their joint meeting POLAR2018, hosted by WSL and SLF in Davos, Switzerland.

Program Overview

The Business Case for a pan-Arctic Observing System
When: 
Sun, 06/24/2018 to Tue, 06/26/2018
Where: 
Davos, Switzerland

The Arctic Observing Summit (AOS) is a high-level biennial summit that provides a platform to address urgent and broadly recognized needs of Arctic observing across all components of the Arctic system. AOS 2018 will focus on pressing issues in the implementation and support of sustained observations that can be addressed through a business-case lens. To that end, short submissions are requested that address any and all aspects of the overarching theme and sub-themes.

When: 
Sat, 06/09/2018 to Sat, 06/23/2018
Where: 
Yakutsk, Russia

We are pleased to invite you to the Fifth Forum for Young Permafrost Scientists to be held in Yakutsk, Russia from 4 to 23 June 2018. This event is open to young researchers under the age of 35 years, including undergraduates, graduate students, and postdoctoral fellows. Interested school children are also welcome to participate.

The Forum for Young Permafrost Scientists will include:

  • The Geocryological Conference held from 4 to 8 June 2018
  • The Geocryological Field Workshop from 9 to 23 June 2018

The Geocryological Conference themes include:

When: 
Mon, 06/18/2018 to Fri, 06/22/2018
Where: 
Portland, Maine

Organizers invite registration for the 2018 Arctic Summer Institute titled Arctic Law, Science, and Policy. This is a pass/fail, two credit or Certificate of Completion course.

The goal of the course is to provide students with an interdisciplinary knowledge base and the tools to practically and responsibly participate in Arctic affairs.

When: 
Wed, 06/20/2018
Where: 
Online: 9:00am Alaska Daylight Time [10am PDT, 11am MDT, 12pm CDT, 1pm EDT]

Please join us for a LIVE event from Toolik Field Station, Alaska. This event will feature PolarTREC teacher Melissa Lau and researchers, Dr. Steve Oberbauer and Dr. Jeremy May.

The team will be sharing what it's like to be working in the Arctic as well their research as part of the Arctic Observing Network (AON). They are researching the relationships between vegetation change, plant phenology, and ecosystem function in a warming Arctic. More information about their research as well as journals and photos can be found on their expedition page:

When: 
Tue, 06/05/2018 to Fri, 06/15/2018
Where: 
McCarthy, Alaska

The Fifth International Summer School in Glaciology organized by the University of Alaska, Fairbanks (UAF), will be held in McCarthy, central Alaska, from 5 to 15 June 2018.