Past Events

When: 
Thu, 08/15/2019
Where: 
Online: 10:20am AKDT (11:20am PDT, 12:20pm MDT, 1:20pm CDT, 2:20pm EDT)

Join educator Kate Steeper and researcher Donie Bret-Harte for a presentation from Toolik Field Station, Alaska on Shrubs, Snow, and Nitrogen in the Arctic. Read more about what Kate is learning here.

This event is hosted through the PolarTREC PolarConnect program. Participants will have a chance the learn from the scientists, ask questions, and chat with others during the presentation. Both events are free and open to the public. Please join us!

When: 
Wed, 08/14/2019
Where: 
Online: 7:00am AKDT (8:00am PDT, 9:00am MDT, 10:00am CDT, 11:00am EDT)

Join educator Monica Nunez and researcher Craig Tweedie. They will discuss the many projects that are ongoing across the Barrow Peninsula. Collectively, these projects are helping to advance our knowledge of terrestrial, aquatic, coastal and marine ecosystem structure and function and how these systems are responding to arctic change. You can learn more about the ongoing research here.

Speaking: Vera Trainer, NOAA Fisheries & Rick Thoman, ACCAP
When: 
Tue, 08/13/2019
Where: 
University of Alaska Fairbanks, or online: 10:00am AKDT, 2:00pm EDT

Algal blooms are not uncommon in the oceans around Alaska, but only rarely are they harmful to people. Along the shores of the Gulf of Alaska, harmful algal blooms are a known hazard. However, in western Alaska, the oceans have historically experienced fewer impacts from the kinds of algae that produce paralytic shellfish and domoic acid poisoning. This presentation will provide an overview of algal toxins and their impacts and a review of the recent changes in ocean climate that now make this a potential hazard for the coasts of western Alaska.

Recent Research and Tool Development in California and Nevada
When: 
Mon, 08/12/2019
Where: 
University of Alaska Fairbanks, or online: 11:00am AKDT, 3:00pm EDT

Speaking: Dan McEvoy, Desert Research Institute and Western Regional Climate Center

When: 
Mon, 08/12/2019

This year's WAIS workshop will be held in Southern California at the newly remodeled Camp Cedar Glen from October 16-18, 2019. Sponsored by NSF and NASA, the workshop will focus on marine ice-sheet and adjacent earth systems, with particular emphasis on the West Antarctic Ice Sheet. The workshop will follow the Antarctic Earth Sciences meeting also held at Camp Julian, October 13-15.

When: 
Mon, 07/29/2019 to Fri, 08/02/2019
Where: 
Penn State's University Park Campus

Applications are now open for the 7th Annual Summer School on Sustainable Climate Risk Management.

The Network for Sustainable Climate Risk Management's (SCRiM) annual summer school is designed to foster opportunities for collaboration between scholars and practitioners while providing a solid foundation in the broad, multidisciplinary knowledge, tools, and methods of the diverse fields participating in the network.

When: 
Wed, 07/31/2019
Where: 

The Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS) is currently conducting a brief community survey to inform a potential new effort that will help individuals interested in interdisciplinary/transdisciplinary Arctic research opportunities to connect more easily.

When: 
Thu, 07/25/2019 to Wed, 07/31/2019
Where: 
Dublin, Ireland

Our Organizing Committee are delighted to bring INQUA to Dublin and we would like to warmly welcome you to the 20th INQUA Congress.

We all have a deep commitment to the Congress and we all want our delegates to thoroughly enjoy the stimulation of multiple scientific sessions in the purpose built Convention centre. In addition we hope you are all looking forward to the warm welcome from Dublin and the Irish people and that you enjoy the magnificent Irish scenery on the various field trips we have organised.

When: 
Wed, 07/31/2019

UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Academia Borealis - The Academy of Sciences and Letters of Northern Norway, and Tromsø Research Foundation welcome nominations for The International Mohn Prize for Outstanding Research Related to the Arctic (The Mohn Prize).

The Mohn Prize was established by the board of UiT The Arctic University of Norway in 2017. The prize, which carries a cash award of 2 million NOK (approximately 210 000 €), is awarded biennially.

Celebrate the Past, Inspire the Future
When: 
Wed, 07/31/2019

As AGU marks its Centennial in 2019, we return to San Francisco on 9-13 December, 2019, the home of the AGU Fall Meeting for more than 40 years. Join our diverse community at the newly renovated Moscone Center as we collaborate across borders and boundaries to explore and develop our research. Don’t miss this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to participate in Centennial presentations and special events that will bring to life the past, present and the future of our science.