Past Events

When: 
Sun, 06/30/2019

The fifth Sea Level and Coastal Change (SLaCC) field meeting will take place in Devon and Cornwall, United Kingdom between Sunday 1st and Wednesday 4th September 2019. The meeting series will bring together scientists working in sea level and coastal research.

Attendance is open across all career stages and to all SLaCC related disciplines (including: palaeo studies, archaeology, modern processes and geomorphology, past and future sea-level change, coastal communities, adaptation and resilience).

When: 
Thu, 06/27/2019 to Sat, 06/29/2019
Where: 
Yakutsk, Russia

Under the aegis of the upcoming International Year of Indigenous Languages declared by the United Nations in 2019, the Institute of Humanitarian Research and Problems of Indigenous Peoples of the North, Russian Academy of Sciences, International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA) and the Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North of Sakha Republic will hold an International Scientific and Practical Conference “Indigenous Languages and Sustainable Development in the Arctic”.

When: 
Tue, 06/25/2019 to Fri, 06/28/2019
Where: 
Charleston, South Carolina

This workshop is organized annually by members of the WAMC Planning Committee across the globe. The WAMC brings together those with research and operational/logistical interests in Antarctic meteorology and forecasting and related disciplines. As in the past, the annual activities and status of the Antarctic Meteorological Research Center (AMRC), Automatic Weather Station (AWS), and Antarctic Mesoscale Prediction System (AMPS) efforts will be addressed, and feedback and results from their user communities will be solicited.

When: 
Wed, 06/26/2019 to Fri, 06/28/2019
Where: 
British Antarctic Survey, United Kingdom

AntClim21 would like to announce an upcoming workshop on CMIP6 21st century projections and predictions for Antarctica and the Southern Ocean. The aim is to help ensure that the Antarctic and Southern Ocean climate science communities make a significant contribution to the IPCC 6th Assessment Report (AR6).

When: 
Wed, 06/26/2019
Where: 
Online: 4:00pm AKDT (5:00pm PDT, 6:00pm MDT, 7:00pm CDT, 8:00pm EDT)

David Walker and the Carbon in the Arctic Team will be broadcasting live from Toolik Field Station in Alaska. During this event, the team will share their recent research on how microbes and sunlight interact in the Arctic and where thawing permafrost soils release large amounts of carbon from land to water. Read more about their research and what David is learning here.

Is the United States appropriately resourced and positioned for Russia’s increased military presence in the Arctic as well as a growing Chinese economic and scientific presence?
When: 
Wed, 06/26/2019
Where: 
Online: 8:30-9:30am AKDT, 12:30-1:30pm EDT

Please join us for an in-depth conversation with Senator Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Readiness and Management Support on the Senate Armed Services Committee, to discuss the recent release of the June 2019 Department of Defense Arctic Strategy. Is the United States appropriately resourced and positioned for Russia’s increased military presence in the Arctic as well as a growing Chinese economic and scientific presence? Or has the United States accepted that it will be limited in its future options to access the Arctic, in an era when U.S.

When: 
Tue, 06/25/2019
Where: 
Online: 10:00am AKDT (11:00am PDT, 12:00pm MDT, 1:00pm CDT, 2:00pm EDT)

Join PolarTREC for the first live event of the 2019-2020 field season! Ale Martinez and the Phenology and Vegetation in the Warming Arctic 2019 Team will be broadcasting live from Toolik Field Station in Alaska. Ale's team is studying environmental variability and increased temperature on tundra plant phenology, growth, species composition and ecosystem function. Read more about their research and what Ale is learning here.

Presenters: Upmanu Lall, Director, Columbia Water Center, Columbia University and Craig Zamuda, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Energy Policy & Systems Analysis, Dep't of Energy
When: 
Tue, 06/25/2019
Where: 
Online: 8:00-9:00am AKDT, 12:00-1:00pm EDT

Seminar No. 2 in the NCA4/NOAA 11-part Seminar Series: The Fourth National Climate Assessment: Impacts, Risks, and Adaptation in the United States.

Presenter(s):

Documenting and Understanding Tundra Ecosystem Changes
When: 
Sun, 06/23/2019
Where: 
Parma, Italy

The International Tundra Experiment (ITEX) steering committee invites abstracts for the next ITEX meeting. This meeting will have the theme of Documenting and Understanding Tundra Ecosystem Changes, and will focus on ecological research in Arctic and alpine environments.

Organizers invite abstracts on the following themes:

Close Range Sensing Techniques in Alpine Terrain
When: 
Sun, 06/16/2019 to Sat, 06/22/2019
Where: 
Obergurgl, Austria

Objectives:
The main goal of the Joint Summer School 2019 is to provide participants with innovative practical and methodological skills to characterize complex terrain and object features using close- and near range remote sensing techniques. The Summer School will be the third edition after two successful implementations in 2015 and 2017.