Past Events

When: 
Wed, 04/14/2021
Where: 
Online: 11:00 am - 12:00 pm AKDT, 3:00-4:00 pm EDT

The Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee (IARPC) announces an upcoming webinar, Introduction to the U.S. Arctic Observing Network (US AON).

The US AON brings federal agencies, academic researchers, and community partners to better coordinate U.S. observing system efforts. This webinar will include information about the US AON's work, recent accomplishments, and how to get involved.

Speaking: Joseph Graly, Northumbria University
When: 
Wed, 04/14/2021
Where: 
Online: 12:00 pm AKDT, 4:00 pm EDT

International Glaciological Society Global Seminar:

Speaking: Joseph Graly, Northumbria University, "What Do We Know about Subglacial Geochemistry?"


Please register in advance for the seminars. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the seminar.

The seminar will also be available afterwards on the Friends of the International Glaciological Society Facebook page so that you can watch it there if technology fails or you can't make it.

Polar Science: Success Stories from the Field and from Home
When: 
Wed, 04/14/2021
Where: 
Online

The APECS International Online Conference 2021 will take place on Wednesday, 12th May 2021.

Who this conference is for: We invite polar and alpine researchers from around the world and from various academic levels to present stories related to the polar and alpine regions that happened in 2020. We hope to hear both success stories and stories of learning from failure. The ultimate goal of the project is to unite the ECR community in a collegial and learning experience organized under the 7th annual APECS Online Conference.

When: 
Tue, 04/13/2021
Where: 
Online: 1:00-2:30 am AKDT, 5:00-6:30 am EDT, 9:00-10:30 am GMT

Speaker:

Hanne Sagen, Senior Researcher, Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center, Norway

Course summary:

When: 
Tue, 04/13/2021
Where: 
Online: 8:00-10:30 am AKDT, 12:00-2:30 pm EDT, 4:00-6:30 pm GMT

Course summary:

When: 
Mon, 04/12/2021
Where: 
Online: 12:00-3:30 am AKDT, 4:00-7:30 am EDT, 8:00-11:30 am GMT

Speakers:

  • Massimo Caccia, Research Director at Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR, National Research Council of Italy)
  • Angelo Odetti, Researcher at Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR, National Research Council of Italy)
  • Raffaella Beroldo, Administrative Assistant at Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR, National Research Council of Italy)

Course summary:

When: 
Tue, 04/06/2021 to Sun, 04/11/2021
Where: 
Online

The University of Alaska Fairbanks Center for One Health Research will partner with the U.S. Department of State to host the international conference One Health, One Future virtually from Fairbanks, Alaska.

This is expected to be the largest circumpolar One Health conference held in the United States in 2021, with participation anticipated from across the Arctic region.

When: 
Fri, 04/09/2021
Where: 
Online: 8:30-10:00 am AKDT, 12:30-2:00 pm EDT

Migratory birds, narwhals, seals, polar bears, and hundreds of other species of fish, mammals, and plants call the Arctic region home. This Arctic biodiversity is under threat by climate change and increased human activity in the region. What can law, policy, and science do to protect Arctic biodiversity? How can meaningful change be achieved? What are the possibilities of international co-operation? What is unique about conservation and legal protection in the Arctic region in comparison with other regions?

When: 
Thu, 04/08/2021
Where: 
Online: 9:30 am AKDT, 1:30 pm EDT

The Women and Water Lecture Series will showcase research, support young professionals and provide a space for dialogue and networking. Additionally, the series will explore water-related challenges, roles of women in water, gendered water-related impacts, women researchers in water, and challenges and opportunities facing female water researchers.

When: 
Wed, 04/07/2021
Where: 

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Office of Polar Programs (OPP) and the Education and Human Resources (EHR) Directorate request input from interested parties on the goals, values and approaches for managing the Antarctic Artist and Writers (AAW) Program and possibly expanding that program to include the Arctic.

In addition, OPP and EHR request input into whether the NSF program which selects and sends educators to the Arctic and Antarctic regions should be under a common management structure.