Past Events

When: 
Wed, 08/29/2018 to Thu, 08/30/2018
Where: 
Rovaniemi, Lapland, Finland

There is a common way of describing the Arctic – the region, its people and resources – in terms of rapid change and constant transformation. Climate change, scramble for the world’s diminishing natural resources and the rather newly emerged concern for local cultures and knowledge, among others, have contributed to the repeated constructions of the Arctic as something that is constantly in flux. Undeniably, the Arctic and its people have witnessed radical changes.

When: 
Sun, 08/26/2018 to Wed, 08/29/2018
Where: 
Utrecht, the Netherlands

This conference aims to facilitate scientific exchange between early-career researchers (ECRs) from a broad range of disciplines working with sea-level change. The conference will include two days of oral and poster presentations by ECRs, invited keynote lectures, a one day field excursion to the Rhine delta and Holland coastal plain with conference dinner, and a public ‘Science and Society’ evening session. The conference is open to ECRs who have obtained or expect to obtain their Ph.D. in 2010 or later.

When: 
Wed, 08/29/2018
Where: 
Online

An informational webinar for the 2019-20 PolarTREC season will be held on Wednesday, 29 August 2018 at 2:00pm AKDT (3pm PDT, 4pm MDT, 5pm CDT, 6pm EDT) for teachers, informal science educators and researchers. The archived presentation will be posted with current updates and information about the PolarTREC program.

Speaker: Donald J. Wuebbles, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, University of Illinois
When: 
Tue, 08/28/2018
Where: 
Online: 8:00-9:00 am AKDT, 12:00-1:00 pm EDT

Climate Seminar 8 of 8:

When: 
Thu, 08/23/2018
Where: 
Online: 7:00am AKDT, 8:00am PDT, 9:00am MDT, 10:00am CDT, 11:00am EDT

PolarTREC teacher Lauren Neitzke Adamo along with researchers Dr. Neal Iverson and Dr. Luke Zoet will be live from the mountains of Switzerland discussing their work on Sliding Glaciers. Read more about their research and what Lauren is learning here.

This event will be 1 hour long with Q&A at the end for teachers, students, friends and family.

Register for FREE at the link above.

Speaker: William Sweet, Oceanographer, Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services, NOAA's National Ocean Service
When: 
Thu, 08/23/2018
Where: 
Online: 8:00-9:00 am AKDT, 12:00-1:00 pm EDT

Climate Seminar 7 of 8: Title: Tidings of the Tides

How they work and the risks and rewards Nathan Lojewski, Forestry Manager, Chugachmiut; and Clare Doig, Forest Land Management, Inc.
When: 
Tue, 08/21/2018
Where: 
IARC/Akasofu 407 University of Alaska Fairbanks, or Online: 10:00-11:00am AKDT, 2:00-3:00pm EDT

As forests grow, the trees absorb CO2 from the atmosphere through photosynthesis and store it within their growing biomass (trunk, branches, leaves and root systems). A “forest carbon offset,” is a metric ton of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e)—the emission of which is avoided or newly stored—that is purchased by greenhouse gas emitters to compensate for emissions occurring elsewhere. Offsets may be developed under voluntary market standards or compliance market standards, each of which has specific carbon accounting and eligibility rules.

Enabling US Early Career Researchers to Advance Polar Science using High Performance Computing and Earth System Modeling
When: 
Mon, 08/13/2018 to Fri, 08/17/2018
Where: 
Boulder, Colorado

With funding from National Science Foundation’s Office of Polar Programs [NSF OPP], we are organizing a 1-week long CESM Polar Modeling Workshop at the National Center for Atmospheric Research Mesa Laboratory. The workshop will target ~15 early career (graduate student, postdoc, < 7 years since Ph.D.) polar scientists to attend. All workshop activities will focus on the Community Earth System Model and high performance computing supported by the National Science Foundation [NSF] at the NCAR-Wyoming Supercomputing Center [NWSC].

Speaking: Rick Thoman, National Weather Service
When: 
Fri, 08/17/2018
Where: 
Available online or in-person at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, 407 IARC/Akasofu building

The tools and techniques for making monthly and season scale climate forecasts are rapidly changing, with the potential to provide useful forecasts at the month and longer range. We will review recent climate conditions around Alaska, review some forecast tools and finish up the Climate Prediction Center's forecast for September and the remaining fall/early winter season.

Feel free to bring your lunch and join the gathering in person or online to learn more about Alaska climate and weather.

When: 
Tue, 08/14/2018 to Fri, 08/17/2018
Where: 
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

This is a 4-day symposium designed to bring scientists and engineers together to solve polar engineering problems.

The Forum will consist of a single stream with encouragement for discussion and questions. Sessions will be organized around the following five themes:

  • Autonomous observing
  • Observation Technologies
  • Sustained measurements
  • Biology and biomass
  • Data Science

Abstract submission closes 31 May, 2018.

Please follow the link above for more information.