Past Events

When: 
Wed, 06/26/2019
Where: 
Online: 4:00pm AKDT (5:00pm PDT, 6:00pm MDT, 7:00pm CDT, 8:00pm EDT)

David Walker and the Carbon in the Arctic Team will be broadcasting live from Toolik Field Station in Alaska. During this event, the team will share their recent research on how microbes and sunlight interact in the Arctic and where thawing permafrost soils release large amounts of carbon from land to water. Read more about their research and what David is learning here.

Presenters: Upmanu Lall, Director, Columbia Water Center, Columbia University and Craig Zamuda, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Energy Policy & Systems Analysis, Dep't of Energy
When: 
Tue, 06/25/2019
Where: 
Online: 8:00-9:00am AKDT, 12:00-1:00pm EDT

Seminar No. 2 in the NCA4/NOAA 11-part Seminar Series: The Fourth National Climate Assessment: Impacts, Risks, and Adaptation in the United States.

Presenter(s):

When: 
Tue, 06/25/2019
Where: 
Online: 10:00am AKDT (11:00am PDT, 12:00pm MDT, 1:00pm CDT, 2:00pm EDT)

Join PolarTREC for the first live event of the 2019-2020 field season! Ale Martinez and the Phenology and Vegetation in the Warming Arctic 2019 Team will be broadcasting live from Toolik Field Station in Alaska. Ale's team is studying environmental variability and increased temperature on tundra plant phenology, growth, species composition and ecosystem function. Read more about their research and what Ale is learning here.

Documenting and Understanding Tundra Ecosystem Changes
When: 
Sun, 06/23/2019
Where: 
Parma, Italy

The International Tundra Experiment (ITEX) steering committee invites abstracts for the next ITEX meeting. This meeting will have the theme of Documenting and Understanding Tundra Ecosystem Changes, and will focus on ecological research in Arctic and alpine environments.

Organizers invite abstracts on the following themes:

Close Range Sensing Techniques in Alpine Terrain
When: 
Sun, 06/16/2019 to Sat, 06/22/2019
Where: 
Obergurgl, Austria

Objectives:
The main goal of the Joint Summer School 2019 is to provide participants with innovative practical and methodological skills to characterize complex terrain and object features using close- and near range remote sensing techniques. The Summer School will be the third edition after two successful implementations in 2015 and 2017.

When: 
Mon, 06/17/2019 to Fri, 06/21/2019
Where: 
University of Washington, Seattle, Washington

The Polar Science Center at the University of Washington, in collaboration with the eScience Institute and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), announce a “hackweek” for Cryospheric Science with ICESsat-2 (CSI).

When: 
Mon, 06/17/2019 to Fri, 06/21/2019
Where: 
Grenoble, France

The OGGM workshop is an annual, informal meeting for developers, users, and future users of the OGGM model. The workshop is open to any interested scientist (within the limits of our capacities!).

Anyone interested in the model, or in glaciological modelling in general! In particular, we would like to encourage potential users and developers to join us to get to know each other and to gather first-hand information about the model internals, as well as PhD students and young scientists. Note that in case of high interest we might have to limit the number of participants.

Speaking: Rick Thoman, Alaska Center for Climate Assessment & Policy (ACCAP)
When: 
Fri, 06/21/2019
Where: 
University of Alaska Fairbanks, or online: 12:00pm AKDT, 4:00pm EDT

The tools and techniques for making monthly and season scale climate forecasts are rapidly changing, with the potential to provide useful forecasts at the month and longer range. We will review recent climate conditions around Alaska, review some forecast tools and finish up the Climate Prediction Center's forecast for July 2019 and the fall season. Feel free to bring your lunch and join the gathering in person or online to learn more about Alaska climate and weather.

Available online or in-person at: Room 407 in the Akasofu Building on the UAF Campus in Fairbanks.

When: 
Thu, 06/20/2019
Where: 

The Belmont Forum invites proposals for a second Collaborative Research Action (CRA) focused on the Arctic region. The theme of this CRA is Resilience in a Rapidly Changing Arctic.

When: 
Mon, 06/17/2019 to Tue, 06/18/2019
Where: 
Osaka, Japan

Climate Change 2019 warmly welcomes each one of the individuals and supporters from worldwide to attend 4th World Summit on Climate Change and Global Warming.