Past Events

Snow Measurements and Water Management
When: 
Mon, 04/20/2020 to Thu, 04/23/2020
Where: 
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

After extensive deliberation and careful consideration, the Western Snow Conference has made the difficult decision to cancel the 88th annual meeting scheduled for April 20-23, 2020 due to health concerns associated with COVID-19.

Speaker: John Olson, NOAA Fisheries Alaska Regional Office
When: 
Thu, 04/23/2020
Where: 
Online: 11:00 - 11:30 am AKDT, 3:00 - 3:30 pm EDT

Abstract:

When: 
Wed, 04/22/2020
Where: 
Online: 2:00 PM AKDT (3 PM PDT, 4 PM MDT, 5 PM CDT, 6 PM EDT)

The IceCube Neutrino Observatory is hosting weekly live calls to the South Pole to chat with IceCube "winterovers" John Hardin and Yuya Makino about living and working at the coldest, harshest place on Earth. In this week's special kids' edition, our winterovers will be joined by special guest Jocelyn Argueta—aka Jargie the Science Girl! Jocelyn visited the South Pole in December 2019 to work on IceCube through the PolarTREC program. She will share about her journey to the South Pole and teach a little science along the way.

When: 
Tue, 04/21/2020
Where: 
Online: 10:00-11:30 am AKDT, 2:00-3:30 pm EDT

This webinar will include a briefing on scientific developments and policy initiatives that are helping protect Alaskan ecosystems and communities from erosion, sea level rise, and other coastal hazards.

Speaking: Crane Johnson, National Weather Service & Rick Thoman, Alaska Center for Climate Assessment & Policy (ACCAP)
When: 
Tue, 04/21/2020
Where: 
Online: 10:00-11:00 am AKDT, 2:00-3:00 pm EDT

Most of Alaska has just come off of a colder or snowier (or both) winter than in recent years. Crane Johnson with the NWS Alaska-Pacific River Forecast Center will review break-up basics and an overview of current conditions. ACCAP Alaska Climate Specialist Rick Thoman will provide the latest subseasonal outlooks that help inform the APRFC's official break-up outlook.

We strongly encourage pre-registration for webinars. It helps speakers tailor their presentations to the audience. Follow the link above to register.

When: 
Mon, 04/20/2020
Where: 
Online: 2:00 pm AKDT, 6:00 pm EDT

The Center for Arctic Policy Studies (CAPS) at the University of Alaska Fairbanks kicks off its webinar series with a webinar on China/Alaska Cooperation in the Arctic, hosted by Dr. Qingchao Xu of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Liz Bowman of University of Alaska Fairbanks. The 30-minute presentation will be followed by a Q & A session. Information on how to join the webinar will be posted on the CAPS website.

The webinar will be online via Zoom (registration link forthcoming – follow URL above).

When: 
Fri, 04/17/2020
Where: 
Online: 10:00 am AKDT, 2:00 pm EDT

The Antarctic Sciences (ANT) and Antarctic Infrastructure and Logistics (AIL) Sections in the Office of Polar Programs (OPP) will be hosting virtual office hours this week to share information with the academic community regarding NSF’s current operations. These office hours will also allow the community to ask questions, share concerns, and/or offer suggestions on how ANT/AIL can do more to address the impact of COVID-19 on researchers.

Current awardees, pending proposers, and future proposers are welcome to attend.

When: 
Thu, 04/16/2020 to Fri, 04/17/2020
Where: 
Seattle, Washington

Attention Arctic Encounter Participants: Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the April convening of the Arctic Encounter has been postponed. Please follow the link above to review this announcement in full. Revised 2020 dates for the event will be announced as soon as possible.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Speaking: Rick Thoman, Alaska Center for Climate Assessment & Policy (ACCAP)
When: 
Fri, 04/17/2020
Where: 
Online: 12:00-1:00 pm AKDT, 4:00-5:00 pm EDT

The tools and techniques for making monthly and season scale climate forecasts are rapidly changing, with the potential to provide useful forecasts at the month and longer range. We will review recent climate conditions around Alaska, review some forecast tools and finish up the Climate Prediction Center’s forecast for the coming months. Feel free to bring your lunch and join the gathering in person or online to learn more about Alaska climate and weather.

When: 
Fri, 04/17/2020
Where: 
Online: 11:00 - 11:30 am AKDT, 3:00 - 3:30 pm EDT

PYRN is organising monthly online seminars during the time of social distancing due to COVID-19. The first seminar features a talk by ExCom member Evan Wilcox about his research on thermokarst lakes. The title of the talk is "Investigating the influences on Thermokarst Lake Water Balances between Inuvik and Tuktoyaktuk, NT."

If you would like to join, please register here: https://forms.gle/pfRbFtLZLqDymqcM8