Past Events

When: 
Thu, 02/27/2014 to Fri, 02/28/2014
Where: 
Innsbruck, Austria

The 18th Alpine Glaciology Meeting (AGM) will take place in Innsbruck, Austria, on February 27-28, 2014.

The AGM is an informal platform where young and senior researchers can meet in a relaxed atmosphere and we very much look forward to provide this setting also for the 18th AGM in Innsbruck. Contributions (oral and poster presentations) addressing all kind of cryospheric topics are welcome and no registration fee is required.

When: 
Sun, 02/23/2014 to Fri, 02/28/2014
Where: 
Honolulu, Hawaii

The 17th biennial Ocean Sciences Meeting, co-sponsored by the Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO), The Oceanography Society (TOS), and the American Geophysical Union (AGU), will be held at the Hawaii Convention Center in Honolulu from 23-28 February 2014. The Ocean Sciences Meeting (OSM) is an important venue for scientific exchange across broad marine science disciplines.

When: 
Wed, 02/26/2014 to Thu, 02/27/2014
Where: 
London, United Kingdom

Organizers of the 5th Polar Shipping Summit announce a call for registration. The summit will convene 26-27 February 2014 in London, United Kingdom.

The goal of the Polar Shipping Summit is to create awareness of international commercial shipping to the North American region and promote understanding of international polar shipping activities. The summit will address key developments in transport and regulation in the Arctic as well as commercial, communication, and safety issues. Particular emphasis will be put on evaluating potential opportunities in the region.

When: 
Sat, 02/22/2014 to Sun, 02/23/2014
Where: 
Honolulu, Hawaii

The Bering Sea Project Science Advisory Board is making a call for expression of interest in an Open Science Meeting (OSM) provisionally planned to convene in 22-23 February 2014 in association with the 2014 Ocean Sciences Meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii.

When: 
Fri, 02/21/2014
Where: 
Online: 3:00PM EST

Presenter: Dr. Timothy E. Link - University of Idaho, Department of Forest, Rangeland, and Fire Sciences

When: 
Thu, 02/20/2014
Where: 
Online: 11:00AM AKST

The webinar is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. AKST (12:00-1:00 p.m. PST, 1:00-2:00 p.m. MST, 2:00-3:00 p.m. CST, and 3:00-4:00 p.m. EST) on Thursday, 20 February 2014. The webinar will provide a brief summary of SIPN project goals and will begin discussions on how to improve sea ice predictions, specifically for the 2014 Sea Ice Outlook. This webinar will be a prelude to the April workshop to be held at National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) on 1-2 April 2014 in Boulder, Colorado.

Theme 6: "Award Structure and Management"
When: 
Tue, 02/18/2014
Where: 
Online, 1:30-2:30 EST

The sixth installment in this webinar series focuses on the management of long-term observing awards. Questions discussed target the management structure of the awardee teams and the methods that they use to implement their observing strategy. Included in these concepts are risk management, interdependent infrastructure, critical path planning, and cost benefits of non-traditional observing methods and interdisciplinary or interagency collaboration. The webinar will be available through Webex (details available at www.arctichub.net).

When: 
Tue, 02/18/2014
Where: 
Online, 10—11am AKST

Coastal communities, marine navigation, industry (fishing, tourism, offshore resource extraction), the military, and Earth/Arctic system science research have all expressed a clear need for an Alaska sea ice atlas. Indeed, many requests for historical and climatological sea ice information for Alaska coastal waters presently go unanswered because such an atlas does not exist. The availability of GIS software, in-house expertise and historical databases extending back to the 1850s makes the construction of an Alaska sea ice atlas timely and feasible.

When: 
Fri, 02/14/2014
Where: 
Online: 3:00PM EST

The presenters will be Dr. Jeff Dozier from the University of California, Santa Barbara, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management in conjunction with Dr. Anne Nolin - Oregon State University, Department of Geosciences.

When: 
Fri, 02/14/2014
Where: 
Online: 11:00AM EST (4PM GMT)

Dr. David Sutherland from the University of Oregon will provide an overview of ice-ocean interactions in glacial fjords. A general introduction of glacial fjords will be presented, followed by more detailed information on fjord circulation and how changes in fjord circulation can impact marine-terminating glaciers.

You can register for the webinar at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/389431569.