IBM Palisades
IBM Palisades

The final workshop report is now available.

Arctic Observation Integration Workshops
17 – 20 March 2008
IBM Palisades
New York, USA

A series of three workshops was held to advance planning and implementation of an integrated Arctic Observation System that is responsive to the critical scientific issues of environmental arctic change. Sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF), the workshop series included three interrelated meetings: 1) an NSF Arctic Observing Network (AON) PI meeting, 2) a workshop on optimizing deployment of Lagrangian platforms for observations of the ocean-ice-atmosphere system, and 3) a workshop to improve observing and modeling activities for understanding recent arctic sea ice change and its impacts throughout the arctic system. Participants included representation from the U.S. and international arctic observational and modeling communities.

Arctic Observation Integration Workshop Background Document (PDF - 110 KB)

Workshop Organizing Committee

Hajo Eicken, University of Alaska Fairbanks (Workshop Co-chair)
Martin Miles, Environmental Systems Analysis Research Center (ESARC) (Workshop Co-chair)
Elena Billi-Rizza, Université Pierre et Marie Curie
Cecilia Bitz, Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington
John Calder, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Klaus Dethloff, Alfred Wegener Institute
Ralf Döscher, Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute (SMHI)
Jean-Claude Gascard, Université Pierre et Marie Curie
Martin Jeffries, National Science Foundation (NSF)
Frank Kauker, Ocean Atmosphere Systems (O.A.Sys)
Craig Lee, Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington
Cecile Mauritzen, Norwegian Meteorological Institute
Maribeth Murray, International Study of Arctic Change (ISAC) and University of Alaska Fairbanks
Steven Oberbauer, Florida International University
Peter Schlosser, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University
Mike Steele, Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington
Neil Swanberg, National Science Foundation (NSF)
Wendy Warnick, Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
Helen Wiggins, Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)

For more information, please contact Helen Wiggins (helen [at]