SO-CHIC: Southern Ocean Carbon and Heat Impact on Climate Webinar

Event Type: Webinars and Virtual Events

When: 7 April 2020

Where: Online: 5:00 am AKDT, 9:00 am EDT, 3:00 pm CEST

More information: 
Link to Register for Webinar

Summary

The EPB will host the first in a series of webinars for the project Southern Ocean Carbon and Heat Impact on Climate (SO-CHIC) at 15:00 Central European Summer Time (CEST).

This first webinar, given by project coordinator Jean-Baptiste Sallée from Sorbonne Université, will introduce SO-CHIC and its objectives.

The Southern Ocean regulates the global climate by controlling heat and carbon exchanges between the atmosphere and the ocean. Rates of climate change on decadal time scales ultimately depend on oceanic processes taking place in the Southern Ocean, yet too little is known about the underlying processes. Limitations come both from the lack of observations in this extreme environment and its inherent sensitivity to intermittent small-scale processes that are not captured in current Earth system models.

To contribute to reducing uncertainties in climate change predictions, the overall objective of SO-CHIC is to understand and quantify variability of heat and carbon budgets in the Southern Ocean through an investigation of the key processes controlling exchanges between the atmosphere, ocean and sea ice using a combination of observational and modelling approaches.

The SO-CHIC project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement N°821001. For more information on SO-CHIC, please visit http://www.sochic-h2020.eu