Webinar Available: Indigenous Foods Knowledges Network

Date: 
13 January 2020

Webinar Available
Indigenous Foods Knowledges Network
Inuit Circumpolar Council—Alaska

Webinar Date: Wednesday, 15 January 2020
Webinar Time: 10:00 a.m. (AKST)

Presenter: Carolina Behe, Inuit Circumpolar Council—Alaska

Join the Webinar via Zoom: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/663224904

The Indigenous Foods Knowledges Network will hold an open webinar entitled Food Sovereignty and Self-Governance: Inuit Role in Managing Arctic Marine Resources (FSSG) via Zoom on Wednesday, 15 January 2020.

The presentation by Carolina Behe of the Inuit Circumpolar Council—Alaska will provide an overview of Inuit food security and Sovereignty, of the FSSG project, and initial key findings. There will be time for discussion after her presentation.

The webinar will begin at 10:00 a.m. (AKST), 11:00 a.m. (PST), 12:00 p.m. (MST), 1:00 p.m. (CST), and 2:00 pm (EST).

Advance registration is not required.

To join the webinar:

Via Zoom, go to: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/663224904
Meeting ID: 663 224 904

Or, dial by phone:
Meeting ID: 663 224 904

Find Your Local Dial-In Number:
https://zoom.us/zoomconference?u=z7lqKxtNbAh7VeYJXQBuG9za-rwSuCkFN7mcSnS...

Speaker Bio:
Carolina Behe is the Indigenous Knowledge/Science advisor for the Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC)—Alaska. Her work within the ICC—Alaska is diverse and ranges from topics within food security and climatic variability to management and policy. And within the past couple of years, her focus has been on food sovereignty. Internationally, Carolina acts as the ICC Head of Delegation on the Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna working group under the Arctic Council. Much of ICC’s work within this group is focused on ensuring an Inuit perspective and interest are at the table. Additionally, a high amount of focus is placed on the involvement of Indigenous Knowledge, promoting the involvement of Indigenous Knowledge and promoting the use of a co-production of knowledge to utilize both Indigenous Knowledge and science in the work conducted within the Arctic Council.

Carolina's work allows for her to work within two knowledge systems, Indigenous Knowledge and science. Indigenous Knowledge takes a holistic view and sees how many pieces fit together. Working with this understanding and way of knowing, combined with science, will aid in make adaptive ecosystem based decisions in the face of climate change.