Call for Educator and Researcher Applications: PolarTREC Program 2020-2021

Date: 
10 September 2019

Call for Educator and Researcher Applications
PolarTREC Program 2020-2021
STEM at the Poles! Research Experiences for Formal and Informal Educators in the Polar Regions
PolarTREC: Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.

Educator Application Deadline: Monday, 7 October 2019 by 5:00 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time

Researcher Application Deadline: Monday, 14 October 2019 by 5:00 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time

To submit an educator application, go to:
https://www.polartrec.com/educators/application

To submit a researcher application, go to:
https://www.polartrec.com/researchers/application

For further information and application instructions, go to:
https://www.polartrec.com/about/application

Or, contact PolarTREC at info [at] polartrec.com


STEM at the Poles! PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently accepting applications from both educators and researchers for educator research experiences. For 2020-2021, the program will be accepting applications from both U.S. informal science educators as well as formal U.S. classroom teachers (teaching in grades 6-12).

Teachers and informal educators are required to be working with middle and high school students and/or their teachers. Applications will be to participate in field research learning experiences during the 2020 (usually Arctic) or 2020-2021 (usually Antarctic) field seasons.

We need researchers! Researchers that work in the polar regions are encouraged to submit an application to host an educator during the 2020-2021 field seasons. Researchers interested in hosting a teacher should contact program staff as soon as possible at info [at] polartrec.com.

More information about candidate criteria, application forms, researcher application questions, and program requirements for both educators and researchers are available at www.polartrec.com/.

About PolarTREC

STEM at the Poles! Research Experiences for Formal and Informal Educators in the Polar Regions is the newest iteration of PolarTREC. The educators (formal and informal) come from the United States and spend three to six weeks participating in hands-on field research experiences in the Arctic or Antarctica, working side by side with scientists. STEM at the Poles is professional development for educators across all Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines connecting them to the polar regions and the research community; developing Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) resources; and changing how they teach STEM in both informal and formal learning environments. PolarTREC is funded through awards from the National Science Foundation and administered by the Arctic Research Consortium of the United States (ARCUS).

Informational Webinar

Teachers, informal educators, and researchers interested in learning more about participating in PolarTREC are encouraged to attend an informational webinar on Wednesday, 11 September at 1:00 pm AKDT (2 pm PDT, 3 pm MDT, 4 pm CDT, 5 pm EDT). Registration is available online at https://www.polartrec.com/about/informational-webinar.

The webinar will focus on the program goals and objectives, program components, the application process, and will address frequently asked questions.

If you are unable to attend the webinar, organizers will post an archive online soon after the event. Anyone who has registered for the event in advance will receive instructions on how to view the archive. A PDF of the presentation will also be available online at the same location.

Additional Information

Further information about PolarTREC, including program goals, requirements, and frequently asked questions, is available at www.polartrec.com or contact PolarTREC at info [at] polartrec.com.