Save the Date: SIPN2 Webinar - An Overview of European Union-Funded Project APPLICATE

Date: 
27 August 2019

Save the Date
SIPN2 Webinar
Sea Ice Prediction Network – Phase 2 (SIPN2)

Date: Tuesday, 17 September 2019
Time:8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. AKDT

Webinar Title: An Overview of European Union-Funded Project APPLICATE
Webinar Presenter: Pablo Ortega, Earth Science Department, Barcelona Supercomputing Center

For questions, contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Email: betsy [at] arcus.org


The Sea Ice Prediction Network – Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces an open webinar entitled An Overview of European Union-Funded Project APPLICATE featuring Pablo Ortega, Earth Science Department, Barcelona Supercomputing Center.

The one-hour webinar will be held on Tuesday, 17 September, starting at:

8:00 a.m. (AKDT), 9:00 a.m. (PDT), 10:00 a.m. (MDT) 11:00 a.m. (CDT), 12:00 p.m. (EDT), and 6:00 p.m. (CEST)

This webinar will be presented by Pablo Ortega who is currently co-leading the Climate Prediction Group of the Barcelona Supercomputing Center. His research is focused on climate variability and predictability in the North Atlantic region, and he’s particularly interested in the role that both the ocean and sea ice play on climate prediction at seasonal-to-decadal timescales.

Ortega's presentation will provide an overview on the European Union-Funded Horizon 2020 project APPLICATE, whose main goal is to advance capabilities to predict the weather and climate in the Arctic and beyond. It will present a few examples on the seasonal prediction activities carried out within the project. These include an analysis on how the different forecast errors are developed in the EC-Earth system, a multi-model comparison of predictive skill in all the seasonal forecast systems participating to the Consortium, results from empirical statistical models used for benchmarking, and experiments exploring the added-value of increasing both the atmospheric and oceanic resolution on seasonal prediction.

This presentation is designed for the sea ice research community and others interested in information about weather and climate prediction in the Arctic and beyond. While this is an open event, attendees should be aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature.

Time for participant questions will follow the presentation.

More details including registration instructions, will be announced closer to the event. The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

For questions, contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Email: betsy [at] arcus.org