ARCUS’ 1st Annual Award for Excellence

31 March 1997

The Arctic Research Consortium of the United States (ARCUS) is pleased to
announce the winners of the 1st Annual ARCUS Award for Arctic Research

Tony Beesley: Towards an Explanation of the Annual Cycle of Low-Cloud
Amount Over the Arctic Ocean. Department
of Atmospheric Sciences, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA

Julia Boike: Thermal and Hydrological Dynamics of the Active Layer at a
Continuous Permafrost Site (Taymyr Peninsula, Siberia). Alfred Wegener
Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Potsdam, Germany

Scott Forrest: Territoriality and State-Sami Relations. University of
Northern British Colombia, Prince George, British Columbia, Canada

Chris Guay: Barium as a Tracer of Arctic Halocline and River Waters.
College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State University,
Corvallis, Oregon, USA

The competition sponsored by ARCUS is designed to promote student
involvement and excellence in arctic research. A panel of six senior
arctic researchers from diverse scientific disciplines judged the
competition. The panel of judges was impressed with the quality of papers
submitted and the diversity of disciplines represented in the competition.

The winners will receive $500 cash and an all-expense paid trip to present
their papers at the 2 June 1997 ARCUS-sponsored Arctic Forum in Washington

Visit the ARCUS Web site at to view abstracts of
the winning papers and for a complete listing of the entries in the
competition. Watch for announcements for the 2nd Annual ARCUS Award for
Arctic Research Excellence in August 1997.

Nicholas Flanders, President