Winners of Second Annual ARCUS Award for Arctic Research Excellence

2 March 1998

ARCUS is pleased to announce the winners of the Second Annual ARCUS Award
for Arctic Research Excellence. They are:

* Kurt Cuffey, Department of Geological Sciences, University of Washington,
"Temperature, accumulation, and ice sheet elevation in central Greenland
through the last deglacial transition"
* Brenda Ekwurzel, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences,
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, "Distribution and
variability of freshwater sources within the arctic surface and halocline
* Sadredin Moosavi, Department of Earth Sciences, University of New
Hampshire, CH4 oxidation by tundra wetlands as measured by a selective
* Brian Person, Department of Biology and Wildlife, University of Alaska
Fairbanks, "Forage variation in broodrearing areas used by pacific black
brant geese on the Yukon-Kuskokwim delta, Alaska"

These students will attend the annual ARCUS-sponsored ARCTIC FORUM in
Washington D.C. on March 23, 1998 and will present their papers to an
audience of arctic researchers, funding agency personnel, and government
officials. Additionally, each winner will receive a $500 cash award.

Abstracts of the winning papers and a listing of all the 1997
participants are available at the ARCUS Web site at:

The announcement of the Third Annual ARCUS Award for Arctic Research
Excellence will be distributed to the community in late summer 1998.
Look for it and encourage your students to submit papers to the

Paul Reichardt, President ARCUS