2021 Sea Ice Outlook Post-Season Review and Discussion


Date: Monday, 11 October 2021
Time: 9:00 am to 10:30 am (Alaska Daylight Time/ UTC−08:00)

This webinar provided a post-season review and discussion of the 2021 Sea Ice Outlook (SIO) and lessons learned.

Registration is required for all SIPN2 webinars.

Register Here

Starting time for the 90-minute webinar was:

9:00 a.m. (AKDT), 10:00 a.m. (PDT), 11:00 a.m. (MDT) 12:00 p.m. (CDT), 1:00 p.m. (EDT), 5:00 p.m. (UTC), and 7:00 pm (CET).

This webinar provided a post-season review of the 2021 Sea Ice Outlook (SIO) with three 10-minute presentations by members of the SIPN2 Project Team including:

  • An overview of observed conditions during the 2021 Arctic sea-ice retreat season, presented by Walt Meier;
  • A summary of skill of 2021 SIO Extent and Sea Ice Probability forecasts across models, presented by Edward Blanchard-Wrigglesworth; and
  • An overview of lessons learned from the SIPN2 project, presented by Uma Bhatt.

Twenty minutes for open discussion followed each of the three presentations.

Speaker Bios:

Walt Meier is a Senior Research Scientist at the National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) who specializes in sea ice; passive microwave remote sensing; Arctic climate change; and climate change.

Edward Blanchard-Wrigglesworth is a research professor in the University of Washington's Department of Atmospheric Sciences. His research interests include atmosphere-sea ice-ocean interactions and Arctic sea-ice predictability.

Uma Bhatt is a professor of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Her research specialty, climate variability, aims to understand how one component of the climate system impacts another (e.g., ocean and atmosphere).

This webinar was designed for the sea-ice research community and others interested in information about sea-ice forecasting. While this was an open event, attendees were advised that the discussions would largely be of a technical nature.