Call for Researcher Applications - Host a PolarTREC Teacher

Date: 
26 August 2013

Call for Researcher Applications
Host a PolarTREC Teacher
PolarTREC: Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.

Application Deadline: Monday, 16 September 2013, 5:00 p.m. AKDT

For further information, please contact PolarTREC at:
Email: info@polartrec.com
Phone: 907-474-1600

Apply at the PolarTREC website:
http://www.polartrec.com/researchers/application/2014

--------------------
PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently
accepting applications from researchers for the eighth year of teacher research
experiences. Researchers are invited to submit an application to host a
PolarTREC teacher during the 2014 (usually Arctic) or 2014-2015 (usually
Antarctic) field seasons.

More information and application forms are available at:
http://www.polartrec.com/researchers/application/2014.

A one-hour informational webinar (web seminar) will be held for researchers
interested in hosting a PolarTREC teacher on their polar research project, and
the interested teachers, on Tuesday, 3 September, at 3:30 p.m. Alaska Daylight
Time (4:30 p.m. PDT, 5:30 p.m. MDT, 6:30 p.m. CDT, 7:30 p.m. EDT). Please
register for the event at: http://www.polartrec.com/researchers/webinar

ABOUT PolarTREC:

PolarTREC--a program of the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)--is a
professional development program for educators, which pairs teachers with
researchers to improve science education through authentic polar research
experiences. The program integrates research and education to produce a legacy
of long-term teacher-researcher collaborations, improved teacher content
knowledge and instructional practices, and broad public interest and engagement
in polar science.

PolarTREC teachers will spend three to eight weeks in the Arctic or Antarctic,
working closely with researchers in the field as an integral part of the science
team. PolarTREC teachers and researchers will be matched based on similar goals
and interests, and teachers will be trained to meet the program requirements
prior to the field season. While in the field, teachers and researchers will
communicate extensively with their colleagues, communities, and students of all
ages across the globe, using a variety of tools including online journals,
photos, other multimedia, and web-based seminars.

Teachers and research projects will be selected and matched to fill the
approximately 12-14 openings available. All major expenses associated with
teacher participation in PolarTREC field experiences are covered by the program
and program partners, including transportation to and from the field site, food,
lodging, and substitute teacher costs.

PolarTREC researchers must be at U.S. institutions. Applications from
researchers on NSF-funded projects will receive priority in the selection
process. Researchers should have secured funding for their research project
prior to applying; if funding is pending and you would still like to host a
teacher, please contact PolarTREC at info@polartrec.com to discuss your
situation.

Past PolarTREC grants were funded by the National Science Foundation. Final
selection and program implementation is contingent on funding approval for
2014-15 field season.

APPLICATION PERIOD
The application period for researchers to apply to participate in PolarTREC will
begin on Monday, 26 August 2013 and end Monday, 16 September 2013.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Further information about PolarTREC, including program goals, requirements, and
frequently asked questions, is available at:
http://www.polartrec.com/researchers.

Or contact PolarTREC:
Email: info@polartrec.com
Phone: 907-474-1600