Search

Search results

Your search for "2010" gave back 657 results.

Friday, 30 April 2010 - Sea Ice for Walrus Outlook

Date: 
Fri, 04/30/2010
Assessment of Current Ice Conditions Relevant to Distribution and Access of Walrus: 

Near Saint Lawrence Island

Online Abstract Submission and Conference Registration Now Open - 2010 Arctic Science Conference

Date: 
Wed, 06/16/2010
Online Abstract Submission and Conference Registration Now Open - 2010 Arctic Science Conference

Online Abstract Submission and Conference Registration Now Open
2010 Arctic Science Conference
Water: Integrating Health, Habitat, and Economy
13-15 September 2010
Anchorage, Alaska

Orville Huntington | Monday, 19 April 2010 - Friday, 23 April 2010

Date(s): 
Mon, 04/19/2010 to Fri, 04/23/2010

In April 2010 Orville Huntington travelled to Charleston, Illinois to present at Eastern Illinois University. Orville spoke with EIU students enrolled in the class Hunters and Gatherers. His two articles, "The Significance of Context in Community-Based Research" and "They're here – I can feel them: the epistemic spaces of Indigenous and Western Knowledge" will be the basis for his lecture to the EIU students.

Allen Marquette | Thursday, 22 April 2010 - Saturday, 24 April 2010

Date(s): 
Thu, 04/22/2010 to Sat, 04/24/2010

In April 2010 Allen Marquette, the Community Education Program Coordinator for the Prince William Sound Science Center traveled via ferry from Cordova, Alaska to Valdez, Alaska with his crate full of skulls, bones, and teeth in preparation for his lectures in Valdez. These artifacts helped demonstrate Allen's interests in the plants, animals, and climate of Alaska during the Pleistocene epoch.

David Klein | Thursday, 6 May 2010 - Monday, 10 May 2010

Speaker: 
Date(s): 
Thu, 05/06/2010 to Mon, 05/10/2010

In May 2010 Dr. David Klein, Professor Emeritus with the Institute of Arctic Biology at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, visited Sci-Port: Louisiana's Science Center on 7 and 8 May to present several programs on changes taking place on the top of the Earth.

Robert McGhee | Monday, 1 November 2010 - Wednesday, 3 November 2010

Speaker: 
Date(s): 
Mon, 11/01/2010 to Wed, 11/03/2010

Dr. Robert McGhee visited Cordova, Alaska on 1-3 November 2010. He presented several programs during his visit to community members, students, Native Elders, and Native Corporation staff. His programs compared the perception of the Arctic as seen through the written history of western civilization, to the perception of the Arctic as viewed through the eyes of the native Inuit people over time through the study of archaeology.

Friday, 9 April 2010 - Sea Ice for Walrus Outlook

Date: 
Fri, 04/09/2010
Assessment of Current Ice Conditions Relevant to Distribution and Access of Walrus: 

Wales to Shishmaref

Friday, 2 April 2010 - Sea Ice for Walrus Outlook

Date: 
Fri, 04/02/2010
Assessment of Current Ice Conditions Relevant to Distribution and Access of Walrus: 

Wales to Shishmaref

Shorefast continues to extend from Wales to Shishmaref 20-40 miles offshore along the coast. Just south of Wales the shorefast ice is now only 1-2 miles wide. There is open water along the edge of the shorefast ice. Large ice floes continue to drift northward through Bering Strait. Ice concentration is over 70%. Satellite imagery indicates the presence of new and young ice forming between floes, in parts of open water areas, and just offshore of the shorefast lead.