Directory of Arctic Researchers

Displaying 101 - 125 of 138

This directory is intended for legitimate use by Arctic researchers and their associates. Any commercial or other unsanctioned use is prohibited.

Enter your search terms in the box below. All fields will be searched.

Click the icon to view each record in detail.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | Ł | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | v | W | X | Y | Z
First Name Last Name Email Department Organization Phone Address City State/Province Postal Code Country Title Current Research Science Specialties
Agneta Fransson agneta.fransson [at] npolar.no

Department of Research - Ocean and Sea Ice

Norwegian Polar Institute

+47-4061-6653 Fram Centre Tromsø 9296 Norway Senior Scientist

Barents Sea.

CO2 chemistry, chemical oceanography, biogeochemistry

View Full Profile
Lennart Fransson lennart.fransson [at] ltu.se

Department of Civil Engineering

Luleå University of Technology

+46-9209-1102 F983 Luleå SE-971 87 Sweden Researcher

Field measurements of ice forces on Lighthouse Norstromsgrund in the Gulf of Bothnia.

ice engineering, ice/structure interaction

View Full Profile
Oliver Frauenfeld oliverf [at] geog.tamu.edu

Department of Geography

Texas A and M University

979-862-8420 3147 TAMU College Station Texas 77843 United States Associate Professor

soil freeze/thaw cycle and climate interactions in the Russian Arctic; land cover-land use change on the Tibetan Plateau; surface-atmosphere interactions

climatology, cryosphere, permafrost

View Full Profile
Regula Frauenfelder regula.frauenfelder [at] ngi.no N/A

Norwegian Geotechnical Institute (NGI)

+47-976-85-864 PO Box 3930 Oslo N-0806 Norway Researcher

Glaciology Geography Applications of remote sensing and GIS and the field of natural hazard monitoring and mitigation.

remote sensing, geographic information systems, periglacial environment

View Full Profile
Pierre Fréchette pierre.frechette [at] crad.ulaval.ca

Department of Planning

Université Laval

418-656-2131 1624 pav F-A Savard Quebec G1K 7P4 Canada Full professor

Modeling the economy of Nunavik with a computable general equilibrium model.

economics, economic modeling, economic policy

View Full Profile
Riona Freeman riona.freeman [at] gov.yk.ca

Department of Economic Development

Oil and Gas Resources Branch - Government of the Yukon

+1-403-292-5114 Suite 100 Tsuu T'ina Alberta T2W 6H6 Canada Senior Petroleum Geologist

Petroleum resource assessment. Environmental assessments relating to oil and gas development in the Yukon Territory. Creation and implementation of regulations and policies relating to oil and gas development in the Yukon Territory.

geology, oil and gas development, government policy

View Full Profile
Allan Frei afrei [at] hunter.cuny.edu

Department of Geography

Rutgers University

212-772-5322 1005 HN New York New York 10065 United States Chair, Professor

Snow cover extent and climate change.

climatology, snow, global change

View Full Profile
Nancy French nancy.french [at] mtu.edu

Michigan Tech Research Institute

Michigan Technological University

734-913-6844 3520 Green Court Ann Arbor Michigan 48105 United States Senior Research Scientist

Climate change. Ecosystem science.

boreal forests, remote sensing, fire ecology

View Full Profile
Harald Frey hfrey [at] ssl.berkeley.edu

Space Sciences Laboratory

University of California Berkeley

510-643-3323 7 Gauss Way Berkeley California 94720 United States Research Physicist

Optical observations of the aurora from the ground and space. Investigation of auroral physics with THEMIS mission. Lightning phenomena and transient luminous events like sprites, elves, halos.

auroral studies, geophysics, ionospheric physics

View Full Profile
Markus Frey maey [at] bas.ac.uk

Atmosphere, Ice & Climate

British Antarctic Survey

High Cross Cambridge CB3 0ET United Kingdom Atmospheric & Glaciochemist

snow photochemistry, air- (sea) ice chemical exchange, polar aerosol, ice cores

View Full Profile
Jeffrey Freymueller jfreymueller [at] alaska.edu

Geophysical Institute

University of Alaska Fairbanks

907-474-7286 903 Koyukuk Drive Fairbanks Alaska 99775 United States Professor

Measurement of ongoing crustal movements and active faults in Alaska and vicinity.

geodesy, geodynamics, geophysics

View Full Profile
Robert Marc Friedman r.m.friedman [at] iakh.uio.no

Department of History

University of Oslo

+47-2285-4205 PB 1008 Blindern Oslo N-0315 Norway Professor of History of Science

History of polar research, esp. Norwegian. Cultural, sociological, and epistemological studies of polar research. Member of 'The Northern Space' project: comparative historical and anthropological studies of Nordic polar research and polar national-experiences.

history of science, history of polar research, arctic science policy

View Full Profile
Max Friesen max.friesen [at] utoronto.ca

Department of Anthropology

University of Toronto

416-978-4505 100 St George Street Toronto Ontario M5S 3G3 Canada Professor

Origins of Beluga whale hunting in the Mackenzie Delta. Inuit-European contact on Herschel Island, Yukon Territory. Ethnohistory of the Mackenzie Delta. Caribou hunters of the Barrenlands, Nunavut. Long-term human-environment interaction at Ekalluk River, Victoria Island.

archaeology, zooarchaeology, Inuit culture

View Full Profile
Harold Fritts hfritts [at] ltrr.arizona.edu

Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research

University of Arizona

520-887-7291 5703 North Lady Lane Tucson Arizona 85704 United States Professor Emeritus

Modeling tree ring growth.

dendrochronology, ecophysiology, ecosystem modeling

View Full Profile
Sherilyn Fritz sfritz2 [at] unl.edu

Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

University of Nebraska - Lincoln

402-472-6431 214 Bessey Hall Lincoln Nebraska 68588 United States George Holmes University Professor

Lake-climate interactions

limnology, paleoclimatology, Quaternary geology

View Full Profile
Diedrich Fritzsche diedrich.fritzsche [at] awi.de

Research Department Potsdam

Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research

+49-331-288-2117 Telegrafenberg A43 Potsdam D-14473 Germany Senior Scientist

Greenland. Severnaya Zemlya. Deep ice drilling.

glaciology, geophysics, ice geophysics

View Full Profile
Bruno Frohlich bruno.frohlich [at] dartmouth.edu

Department of Anthropology

Smithsonian Institution

802-249-0630 National Museum of Natural History MS-112 Washington District of Columbia 20560 United States Visiting Professor

Aleutian Islands, population demography, physical anthropology, archaeology. Also research in the Middle East, New England, and Europe.

physical anthropology, population biology, remote sensing

View Full Profile
Steve Frolking steve.frolking [at] unh.edu

Complex Systems Research Center

University of New Hampshire

603-862-0244 39 College Road - Morse Hall Durham New Hampshire 03824 United States Research Professor

BOREAS. Pan-Arctic hydrology. Modeling soil freeze/thaw.

biogeochemistry, soil processes, wetlands

View Full Profile
Anatoly Frolov ipquis [at] redline.ru

Division of Scientific Council on Earth Cryology - Geophysics of Cryolithozone

Russian Academy of Sciences

+7-95-930-2634 Apt 128 Moscow 117296 Russian Federation Professor, Renowned Scientist of Russian Federation, Head of Department

Peculiarities of electric and mechanical properties of saline frozen soils. Dielectric properties of dry and wet snow. Physics (electrodynamics and acoustics) of frozen soils, ice, and snow.

geophysics, permafrost, soil physics

View Full Profile
Sergey Frolov lilp [at] aari.nw.ru

Ice Navigation Laboratory - Ice Regime and Forecasts Department

Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute

+7-812-352-0307 38 Bering Street St. Petersburg 199397 Russian Federation Head of Laboratory

Ice conditions for navigation in the Arctic Basin, Northern Sea Route, Okhotsk Sea. Participated in 30 Arctic expeditions, including 8 voyages to the North Pole aboard Russian icebreakers.

sea ice navigation, sea ice, sea ice monitoring

View Full Profile
Peter Frost pfrost [at] globetrotter.qc.ca

GETIC

Université Laval

+1-418-683-1740 Pavillon De Koninck - local 0450 Sainte-Foy Quebec G1K 7P4 Canada Researcher

Paleoanthropology. Genetics of the Labrador Inuit. Upper paleolithic Europe and Siberia.

anthropology, genetics, paleo-Eskimo

View Full Profile
Gerald Frost jfrost [at] abrinc.com N/A 907-388-1523 PO Box 80410 Fairbanks Alaska 99708 United States Senior Scientist View Full Profile
Alan Fryday fryday [at] msu.edu

Department of Plant Biology

Michigan State University

517-355-4696 Herbarium, Department of Plant Biology East Lansing Michigan 48824 United States

Taxonomy and ecology of non-corticolous, crustose lichens. Lichen phytosociology.

lichenology, alpine ecology, plant ecology

View Full Profile
Paul Fryer paul.fryer [at] uef.fi

Department of Geography

University of Eastern Finland

+358-50-372-8521 PO Box 111 Joensuu FIN-80101 Finland Lecturer

Russian North: Ethnic boundaries in transition on the Kola Peninsula. Ethnic revival in the Komi Republic.

Native transitions, circumpolar cultures, Native education

View Full Profile
Dieter Fuetterer dieter.fuetterer [at] awi.de

Department of Geosystems

Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research

+49-471-4831-1202 Am Alten Hafen 26 Bremerhaven D-27568 Germany Professor

Ocean sediment. Siberian River Run-off (SIRRO). Karasea and Ob-Yenisei estuaries.

marine geology, paleoceanography

View Full Profile