Directory of Arctic Researchers

Displaying 51 - 75 of 138

This directory is intended for legitimate use by Arctic researchers and their associates. Any commercial or other unsanctioned use is prohibited.

Enter your search terms in the box below. All fields will be searched.

Click the icon to view each record in detail.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | Ł | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | v | W | X | Y | Z
First Name Last Name Email Department Organization Phone Address City State/Province Postal Code Country Title Current Research Science Specialties
Richard Fortier richard.fortier [at] ggl.ulaval.ca

Departement de geologie et de genie geologique

Université Laval

+1-418-656-2746 Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot Québec Quebec G1V 0A6 Canada Professeur

Cone penetration test in permafrost. Geophysical logging. Permafrost sampling.

permafrost engineering, frozen soil mechanics, geophysics

View Full Profile
Daniel Fortier daniel.fortier [at] umontreal.ca

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

University of Alaska Fairbanks

+1-514-343-6111 Pavillon 520, Chemin de la Côte Sainte-Catherine Montréal Quebec H3C 3J7 Canada Professor

Geomorphological and climatological dynamics of permafrost since the late Wisconsin. Reconstruction of development of landforms (e.g. ice-wedge polygons, pingos, thermokarst lakes) to determine the governing climatic and geomorphologic parameters. Modelling actual thermal regime of permafrost to reconstruct any paleoclimatological changes recorded in ice and sediments since the early Wisconsin.

geocryology, geomorphology, climatology

View Full Profile
Michael Fortescue fortesq [at] hum.ku.dk

Department of Scandinavian Studies and Linguistics

Copenhagen University

+44-01608-811449 Sandford Park 19 Charlbury OX7 3TH United Kingdom Professor emeritus

Co-editing Oxford Handbook of Polysynthesis. Continuing investigation of linguistic relations across Bering Strait, and orientation systems of the North Pacific Rim.

linguistics

View Full Profile
David Forsyth dforsyth [at] nrcan.gc.ca

Geological Survey of Canada - Minerals and Regional Geoscience Branch

Natural Resources Canada

613-995-5467 615 Booth Street Ottawa Ontario K1A 0E9 Canada Research Scientist

Polar margin structure and tectonics. Modelling and interpretation of aeromagnetic and geology for area of Lincoln Sea, Ellesmere Island, and northwest Greenland east to Kap Washington. Integration of seismic (crustal refraction), magnetic, and geology data for the Canadian polar margin area from Ellefe Ringnes Island to Nansen Sound/Northeast Ellesmere Island. Proposed seismic and magnetic program in Nares Strait.

seismology, geophysics, tectonics

View Full Profile
Richard Forster rick.forster [at] geog.utah.edu

Department of Geography

University of Utah

801-581-3611 260 South Central Campus Drive Salt Lake City Utah 84112 United States Professor

Interferometric synthetic aperture radar (InSAR) measurement of glacier velocites. Snowpack charcterization from microwave remote sensing

remote sensing, glaciology, snow hydrology

View Full Profile
Rene Forsberg rf [at] space.dtu.dk

DTU Space

Technical University of Denmark

+45-4525-9719 Elektrovej Kgs. Lyngby 2800 Denmark Professor, Head of Geodynamics

Gravity field of the Arctic. Remote sensing of ice sheets. Geodynamics.

geodesy, geophysics, ice sheet geophysics

View Full Profile
Steven Forman steven_forman [at] baylor.edu

Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences

University of Illinois at Chicago

254-710-2495 Baylor Sciences Building Waco Texas 76798 United States Professor

Quaternary history of the Eurasian North. Ice sheet and sea level dynamics; land-ocean connections.

quaternary geology, marine geology, paleoclimatology

View Full Profile
Holger Forke holger.forke [at] gmx.de N/A (0)30-46796158 Lychenerstrasse 54 Berlin 10437 Germany

Svalbard archipelago, biostratigraphy and paleobiogeography of Late Paleozoic larger foraminifera (Fusulinoidea)

micropaleontology, biostratigraphy, paleoclimatology

View Full Profile
Adolfo Foriero adolfo.foriero [at] gci.ulaval.ca

Department of Civil Engineering

Université Laval

+1-418-656-2089 Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot Sainte-Foy Quebec G1K 7P4 Canada Professor

Frozen soil creep. Frost heave. Ice scouring.

frozen soil mechanics, geotechnical engineering, civil engineering

View Full Profile
Arthur Ford abford [at] aol.com N/A

Denali Associates

650-323-3652 400 Ringwood Avenue Menlo Park California 94025 United States Research Geologist

Alaska geology

geology

View Full Profile
James Ford james.ford [at] mcgill.ca

Department of Geography

McGill University

+1-514-398-4960 805 Sherbrooke Street West Montreal Quebec H3A 0B9 Canada Associate Professor

Vulnerability of communities in the Arctic to natural hazards in light of climate change.

geography, global warming, global change

View Full Profile
David Forcucci david.forcucci [at] uscg.mil

USCG Icebreaker Science Operations

United States Coast Guard

206-217-6648 1519 Alaska Way South Seattle Washington 98028 United States Marine Science Coordinator

Science planning and scheduling for the USCG icebreaker Healy.

logistics, marine biology, oceanography

View Full Profile
Soeren Forchhammer forchhammer [at] hum.ku.dk

Department of Eskimology

University of Copenhagen

+45-4646-1103 Byager 8a Hvalsø DK-4330 Denmark

West Greenland, 20th century history, emancipation, nationalism, identity, ethnicity. Regional development. Hunting and fishing in relation to identity, nationalism, and political emancipation processes from the mid 1960s.

social anthropology, arctic policy, circumpolar cultures

View Full Profile
Mads Forchhammer mads.forchhammer [at] unis.no

Population Ecology

University of Aarhus

+47-79-02-33-37 PO Box 156 Longyearbyen Svalbard N-9171 Norway Professor

Large-scale atmospheric fluctuations (the NAO and the ENSO/NP) and their influence on ecosystem functioning in the Northern Hemisphere. Analytic/statistical population modeling on arctic animals integrating climatic and biological processes. Plant/herbivore interactions. Lemming/muskox/caribou population dynamics. Population dynamics of arctic marine mammals. Predator-prey dynamics (lynx-snowshoe hare interactions in Canada).

population ecology, climate change, animal behavior

View Full Profile
Bruce Forbes bruce.forbes [at] ulapland.fi

Arctic Centre

Arctic Centre, University of Lapland

+35-040-847-9202 PL 122 Rovaniemi 96101 Finland Research Professor

The project 'Environmental and Social Impacts of Industrialization in the Russian Arctic' (ENSINOR)

biogeography, human/environment interaction, disturbance ecology

View Full Profile
Alain Fontaine alain.fontaine [at] ec.gc.ca

Canadian Wildlife Service

Environment Canada

867-975-4638 10 Burns Road Whitehorse Nunavut Y1A 4Y9 Canada Wildlife Technician

Habitat and migratory bird ecology.

avian ecology, habitat selection, remote sensing

View Full Profile
Gail Fondahl gail.fondahl [at] unbc.ca

NRES/Geography

University of Northern British Columbia

+1-250-960-5856 3333 University Avenue Prince George British Columbia V2N 4Z9 Canada Professor

Cultural geography, legal geography. Legal reform and indigenous land rights in Russian North, reindeer herding cultures and institutional reform in Russia.

Geography

View Full Profile
Lars Folkow lars.folkow [at] uit.no

Department of Arctic Biology

University of Tromsø

+47-7764-4792 AAB 3.113 Tromsø N-9037 Norway Professor

Temperature regulation. Diving physiology.

animal physiology, marine mammals, reindeer

View Full Profile
Nancy Fogel-Chance chance [at] uconnvm.uconn.edu N/A 860-429-6543 27 Codfish Fish Falls Road Storrs Connecticut 06268 United States

North Slope Inupiat gender, and ethnohistory.

ethnohistory

View Full Profile
Gilberto Fochesatto gjfochesatto [at] alaska.edu

Atmospheric Sciences Geophysical Institute and College of Natural Science and Mathematics

University of Alaska Fairbanks

907-474-7602 903 Koyukuk Drive Fairbanks Alaska 99775 United States Associate Professor of Atmopsheric Sciences

High Latitude Atmospheric Boundary Layer Turbulence, Dynamics and Meteorology Micrometeorological processes and exchanges of energy and matter in complex terrain. Boreal Forest canopy, Arctic Tundra and High Latitude Agricultural systems, Surface turbulent processes and flow dynamics. Tropospheric Aerosols and Aerosol Laser Raman Spectroscopy. Atmospheric Lidar Research. Lidar Applications to Atmospheric Boundary Layers, Aerosols, fog and ice in the ABL. Laser Scintillometry Research - Large scale turbulent fluxes.

micrometeorology, turublencve and surfacve fluxes of heat, moisture and carbon, boundary-layer meteorology, polar meteorology

View Full Profile
Peter Flood peter.flood [at] usask.ca

Western College of Veterinary Medicine

University of Saskatchewan

306-966-7407 52 Campus Drive Saskatoon Saskatchewan S7N 5B4 Canada Professor Emeritus

Ecophysiology of muskoxen. Maintenance of pregnancy in caribou. Reproductive biology.

animal physiology, ecophysiology, veterinary medicine

View Full Profile
Paul Flint pflint [at] usgs.gov

Alaska Science Center - Biological Resources Division

U.S. Geological Survey

907-786-7183 4210 University Drive Anchorage Alaska 99508 United States Researcher

Population dynamics and breeding ecology of Spectacle, Common, and Stellar's Eiders.

avian biology, bird populations

View Full Profile
Dean Flett dean.flett [at] canada.ca N/A

Canadian Space Agency

+1-613-996-4489 373 Sussex Drive Ottawa Ontario K1A 0H3 Canada Manager

R&D towards development of operational use of satellite data and information extraction from remote sensing data for operational sea ice analysis and forecasting.

remote sensing, sea ice remote sensing, sea ice

View Full Profile
Christopher Fletcher christopher.fletcher [at] fmed.ulaval.ca

Department of Anthropology

University of Alberta

+1-418-656-2131 Pavillon Ferdinand-Vandry Ville de Québec Quebec G1V 0A6 Canada Professor

Mental health and aboriginal peoples, Cultural concepts and models of health.

cultural anthropology, environmental perception, Indigenous knowledge

View Full Profile
Gerald Flerchinger gerald.flerchinger [at] ars.usda.gov

Northwest Watershed Research Center

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agricultural Research Service

208-422-0716 800 Park Boulevard Boise Idaho 83712 United States Research Hydraulic Engineer

Model heat, water and solute transfer in response to soil freezing and thawing. Modeling heat and water transfer at the land/atmosphere interface.

modeling, hydrology, soil science

View Full Profile