2004 Council Forum | Meeting Agenda

THE COUNCIL FORUM 2004

Friday, 14 May 2004 (Terrace East & West Rooms)

1:00 p.m. Welcome and Introductions

Vera Alexander, President

BUSINESS MEETING OF THE CORPORATION

1:10 p.m. Approval of Council Minutes from Fifteenth Annual Meeting

Bernard Zak, Secretary
Present Slate of Nominees
Gregory Flato, Chair

Board development Committee

Roll Call and Election of the Board of Directors

Wendy Warnick

ARCUS Executive Director

Action: Vote

1:30 p.m. The Annual Report of the Corporation

Vera Alexander, President ARCUS Board of Directors

Wendy Warnick

ARCUS Executive Director

ARCUS MEMBER INSTITUTION PRESENTATIONS

2:00 p.m. (3-4 minute presentations on arctic-related work ongoing at member institutions, the concerns of arctic researchers, and suggestions about how ARCUS might work more effectively with member institution to

advocate for arctic research and the needs of arctic researchers.)

1. Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Volker Rachold

Research

The University Center in Svalbard (UNIS)
 University of Lapland, Arctic Centre
 McGill University
 Himmarfik
 Desert Research Institute
 University of Massachusetts
 Ingibjörg Jónsdóttir
 Paula Kankaanpää
 Marianne Stenbaek
 Birger Poppel
 Randy Borys
 Julie Brigham-Grette

8. Bates College

9. Northern Illinois University

10. Cold Regions Research and Engineering John Weatherly

Laboratory

11. Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory James Cochran12. Alaska North Slope Borough Department of Robert Suydam

Wildlife Management

13. Marine Biological Laboratory
 14. Pennsylvania State University
 15. University of Alaska Fairbanks
 16. University of Alaska Anchorage
 17. Donn Hobbie
 18. Verlinde
 19. Roger Ruess
 19. Bart Sveinbjornsson

3:30 p.m. BREAK

2004 Council Forum Agenda
Page 1

4:00 p.m. **Arctic Research at ARCUS Member Institutions (continued)** 17. University of Colorado William Manley 18. University of Delaware Andreas Muenchow 19. University of Washington Richard Moritz Andrey Proshutinsky 20. Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution 21. Sandia National Laboratories Jeffrey Zirzow Katherine Rusk 22. Smithsonian Institution 4:45 p.m. Discuss Issues and Advocacy Needs 5:30 p.m. Adjourn