2008 AGU Community Meetings Schedule

Arctic Community Meeting Space: AGU 2008
American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting
Location: San Francisco Marriott, Pacific Room A
Time Group Contact Meeting Type
Sunday, 14 December 2008
1:00pm–4:00pm Planning Meeting for the
ARCSS / Thermokarst Research Project
Breck Bowden
breck.bowden@uvm.edu
Closed
4:30pm–6:30pm Sea-ice Experiment: Dynamic Nature of the Arctic (SEDNA) Group Meeting

Jenny Hutchings

jenny@iarc.uaf.edu

Please Contact Organizer
6:30pm–8:30pm Ice Camp 2011: Preliminary Meeting

Jenny Hutchings

jenny@iarc.uaf.edu

Jackie Richter-Menge

Jacqueline.A.Richter-Menge@usace.army.mil

Open
Monday, 15 December 2008
9:30am–11:00am Live from IPY! with the Oden

Janet Warburton

warburton@arcus.org

Kristin Timm

kristin@arcus.org

Open
12:00pm–2:00pm

The U.S. Permafrost Association,

Board Meeting

Ken Hinkel

hinkelkm@ucmail.uc.edu

Closed
2:30pm–4:30pm One on One with the Arctic Research Mapping Application (ARMAP)

Robbie Score

robbie@polarfield.com

Open
5:00pm–6:30pm 2nd Meeting of the International Permafrost Association (IPA) Task Force on Remote Sensing of Permafrost

Guido Grosse

ggrosse@gi.alaska.edu

Open, Please Contact Organizer

6:30pm

Moscone West,

Room 3002

AGU Union Lecture: Frontiers of Geophysics

Michael Jones, Chief Technical Officer, Google Earth

AGU Open
6:30pm–7:30pm Fire Impacts on Permafrost

Masami Fukuda

mfukuda@iarc.uaf.edu

Closed
7:30pm–9:00pm

The U.S. Permafrost Association,

2008 Annual Meeting

Ken Hinkel
hinkelkm@ucmail.uc.edu
Open
Tuesday, 16 December 2008
7:15am–10:15am BASC Barrow Environmental Observatory Subcommittee (BEO SC) Meeting

Jerry Brown

jerrybrown@igc.org

Open, Please Contact Organizer

10:30am–12:00pm

IPY Education and Outreach Meeting

Rhian Salmon

ipy.ras@gmail.com

Open, Please Contact Organizer

12:30pm–2:00pm

SEARCH Observing Change Panel Meeting Hajo Eicken
hajo.eicken@gi.alaksa.edu

Open, Please Contact Organizer

2:15pm–3:15pm IARC Oceanographic Collaborators Meeting

Larry Hinzman

lhinzman@iarc.uaf.edu

CANCELED

2:15pm–3:15pm ARCUS Teleconference

Wendy Warnick

warnick@arcus.org

Closed
3:30pm–4:30pm A Discussion of Community Needs for Cryospheric Climate Data Records

Sheldon Drobot

Sheldon.Drobot@colorado.edu

Open
4:45pm–5:45pm Thaw Lake Project Meeting

Ken Hinkel

hinkelkm@ucmail.uc.edu

Closed

5:00pm

Moscone West,

Room 2014

Nye Lecture

Polar Science in a Time of Rapid Change Mary R. Albert, CRREL, Thayer School of Engineering

AGU Open
6:00pm–7:30pm NSF Arctic Natural Science Town Hall Meeting Bill Wiseman
wwiseman@nsf.gov
Open

6:30pm–8:00pm

San Francisco Marriott, Salon 7

Cryosphere Business Meeting and Reception

Jason Box

box.11@osu.edu

Open
7:45pm–10:00pm International Study of Arctic Change (ISAC) Science Steering Group and Council Meeting

Maribeth Murray

ffmsm@uaf.edu

Open, Please Contact Organizer
Wednesday, 17 December 2008
8:00am–9:45am High Latitude Nocturnal Chemistry Meeting

William Simpson

ffwrs@uaf.edu

Open
10:00am–12:00pm Ocean-Atmosphere-Sea-Ice-Snowpack Interactions (OASIS) Barrow 2009 Experimental Campaign

Harry Beine

hbeine@ucdavis.edu

Closed, Please Contact Organizer
12:30pm–1:30pm Fresh Water Integration (FWI) Study Working Group Meeting

Michael Rawlins

michael.rawlins@jpl.nasa.gov

Jonathan Pundsack

jonathan.pundsack@unh.edu

Open, Please Contact Organizers
1:45pm–2:15pm ARCUS Meeting

Wendy Warnick

warnick@arcus.org

Closed

2:30pm–3:45pm Polaris Project

Max Holmes

rmholmes@whrc.org

Closed
4:00pm–6:30pm Roundtable Discussion of Unmanned
Aircraft Systems for Arctic Environmental Measurements
Betsy Weatherhead
elizabeth.weatherhead@colorado.edu
Open
6:30pm–8:30pm SEARCH Sea Ice Outlook: What We Learned from 2008 and Future Plans

Jim Overland
james.e.overland@noaa.gov

Hajo Eicken
hajo.eicken@gi.alaska.edu

Open
Thursday, 18 December 2008
8:00am–10:00am Arctic-CHAMP Science Steering Committee Meeting

Jonathan Pundsack

jonathan.pundsack@unh.edu

Please Contact Organizer
10:15am–11:30am ARCUS Meeting

Wendy Warnick

warnick@arcus.org

Closed
12:00pm–2:00pm APECS Mentor Panel Discussion—Careers in Polar Science: Research and Opportunities

Rhian Salmon

ipy.ras@gmail.com

Jenny Baeseman

jbaeseman@gmail.com

Open, Please Contact Organizer
2:30pm–3:30pm ARCUS Meeting

Wendy Warnick

warnick@arcus.org

Closed

4:00pm–6:00pm Terrestrial and Human Response to Rapid Climate Change and Land Use Change in the Arctic

Maribeth Murray

ffmsm@uaf.edu

Open

6:15pm–8:30pm

Moscone West,

Room 2002

U.S. Arctic Research Commission (USARC) AGU Town Hall Meeting on Arctic Research

John Farrell

jfarrell@arctic.gov

Open
6:30pm–8:00pm Meeting Room Available

Alysa Loring

alysa@arcus.org

907-388-5530

 

7:30pm

Moscone West,

Room 2003

Antarctic Research: Impacts of Rising Logistical Costs on the Research Program AGU Open
Friday, 19 December 2008
8:00am–8:00pm Meeting Room Available

Alysa Loring

alysa@arcus.org

907-388-5530