2007 AGU Community Meetings Schedule

TIME GROUP CONTACT

MEETING TYPE

Sunday, 9 December 2007

9:00am–4:30pm

U.S. National Committee (USNC)

Ninth International Conference on Permafrost (NICOP)

Larry Hinzman, IARC

ffldh@uaf.edu

Closed 9am–2pm

Open 2pm–4:30pm

5:30pm–7:00pm U.S. Permafrost Association (USPA) Annual Meeting

Jon E. Zufelt, USPA President

Jon.E.Zufelt@erdc.usace.army.mil

Open
Monday, 10 December 2007

7:00am–1:00pm

Meeting Room Available    
1:30pm–4:00pm ARCUS

Laurie Hueffer, ARCUS

laurie@arcus.org

Closed
4:30pm–6:00pm IPY Education and Outreach Meeting

Jenny Baeseman, ARCUS

baeseman@arcus.org

Contact Organizer
6:15pm–7:15pm

Reflections on the Science and Policy of Energy and Climate Change

(Moscone Center South, Room 102)

Presented by Dr. John H. Marburger, Science Advisor to the President Union Lecture
7:30pm–8:30pm

Moving Toward an Arctic Synthesis Collaboratory

(Moscone Center West, Room 3004)

Presented by

Charles Vörösmarty and

A. David McGuire

AGU Town Hall Meeting
6:30pm–8:00pm International Partnerships in Ice Core Sciences (IPICS)

Mark Twickler, UNH

nicl.smo@unh.edu

Contact Organizer
8:30pm–10:30pm Barrow Arctic Science Consortium, Science Management Advisory Committee Meeting

Bernie Zak, Sandia Labs

bdzak@sandia.gov

Open/Contact Organizer
Tuesday, 11 December 2007
7:30am–9:30am Arctic-CHAMP SSC Meeting

Jonathan Pundsack, UNH

jonathan.pundsack@unh.edu

Contact Organizer
9:45am–10:45am Meeting Room Available    
11:00am–12:30pm Arctic OASIS (Ocean-Atmosphere-Sea Ice-Snowpack) Field Campaigns Meeting

Harry Beine, C.N.R.-IIA and

UC Davis

harry108@gmail.com

Paul Shepson, Purdue

pshepson@purdue.edu

Open
1:00pm–4:00pm Yukon River Basin Permafrost and Carbon

Rob Striegl, USGS

rstriegl@usgs.gov

Contact Organizer
4:00pm–5:00pm Arctic Climate Change: Where Reality Exceeds Expectations (Moscone Center South, Room 102) Presented by Mark Serreze Nye Lecture
5:30pm–7:00pm CliC Sea Ice Meeting

Walt Meier, NSIDC

walt@nsidc.org

Contact Organizer
6:30pm–8:00pm

Cryosphere Reception

(San Francisco Marriott Hotel, Salon 7)

7:30pm–9:00pm North Pole Environmental Observatory in IPY and the Future

James Morison, APL - UW

morison@apl.washington.edu

Open
Wednesday, 12 December 2007
8:00am–10:00am Live from IPY! PolarTREC Teacher Elke Bergholz and NOAA researchers present from South Pole Station, Antarctica

Janet Warburton, ARCUS

warburton@arcus.org

Open

(RSVP to Organizer)

9:00am–10:00am

Fall Meeting Press Conference: U33B Arctic changes

(Moscone Center West, Room 2010)

Presented by Michael Steele, Donald Perovich, John Walsh, and Marco Tedesco AGU Press Conference
10:30am–11:30am CliC Sea Ice Meeting

Walt Meier, NSIDC

walt@nsidc.org

Contact Organizer
12:00pm–1:30pm Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS)

Jenny Baeseman, ARCUS

baeseman@arcus.org

Open
1:45pm–3:45pm Annual Meeting on Modeling Oriented Fracture Patterns and Frazil/Pancake Ice Formation

Matt Pruis, NWRA

matt@nwra.com

Open
4:00pm6:00pm IPY Data and Information Service (IPYDIS) Meeting

Mark Parsons, NSIDC

parsonsm@nsidc.org

Open

(RSVP to Organizer)

6:15pm9:00pm NSF-ARCSS Summer 2007 Synthesis Working Group Meeting

Martin Miles, ESARC

martin.miles@esarc-colorado.org

Contact Organizer

7:00pm

AGU Honors Ceremony and Banquet

AGU Event
Thursday, 13 December 2007
9:00am–11:45am Live from IPY! IPY Ice Sheet Day presentations from PolarTREC Teacher Brandon Gillette and ice sheet researchers across Antarctica

Janet Warburton, ARCUS

warburton@arcus.org

Open

(RSVP to Organizer)

12:00pm–2:00pm NSF-ARCSS FWI Intensifiers Working Group Meeting

Jonathan Pundsack, UNH

jonathan.pundsack@unh.edu

Contact Organizer
2:15pm–3:15pm Meeting Room Available    
3:30pm–6:00pm Unmanned Aircraft for Environmental Measurements of the Arctic (CAUAS)

Betsy Weatherhead,

U. Colorado at Boulder

Betsy.Weatherhead@noaa.gov

Open
6:30pm–10:00pm

2000 years of Climatic Variability from Arctic Lakes:

ARCSS 2 kyr project

Darrell Kaufman, NAU

darrell.kaufman@nau.edu

Contact Organizer
7:30pm–9:00pm

Arctic Marine Shipping Assessment of the Arctic Council: A Call to the Arctic Research Community

(Moscone Center West, Room 3006)

Lawson Brigham, USARC

usarc2@acsalaska.net

AGU Town Hall Meeting
Friday, 14 December 2007
9:00am–5:30pm Regional Arctic Climate Model Planning Meeting

Wieslaw Maslowski, NPS

maslowsk@nps.edu

Closed
Saturday, 15 December 2007
9:00am–3:00pm Regional Arctic Climate Model Planning Meeting

Wieslaw Maslowski, NPS

maslowsk@nps.edu

Closed