2006 AGU Community Meetings Schedule

TIME GROUP CONTACT

MEETING TYPE

Sunday, 10 December 2006 (*Pacific J Room: Sunday only)

1:00pm–9:00pm

Scientific Ice Expedition (SCICEX) Spring 2007

Cathleen Geiger, CRREL

cgeiger@udel.edu

Contact Organizer
Monday, 11 December 2006 (*Pacific A Room: Monday - Friday)

7:30am–8:45am

ARCUS

Laurie Hueffer, ARCUS

laurie@arcus.org

Closed
9:00am11:00am Biocomplexity Project Meeting

Jay Burnside, VECO Polar Resources

jay@polarfield.com

Closed
11:15am12:15pm International Permafrost Association, Executive Committee Meeting

Jerry Brown, International Permafrost Association

jerrybrown@igc.org

Closed
12:30pm1:30pm IPY Opportunities for Early-Career Polar Scientists

Susan Weiler, Whitman College

weilercs@whitman.edu

Open
2:00pm–4:30pm Barrow Arctic Science Consortium, Digital Subcommittee Meeting

Richard Machida, UAF, BASC DSC chair

rm@alaska.edu

Contact Organizer
4:45pm–6:45pm

US Permafrost Association

Board of Directors Meeting

Frederick Nelson, U. of Delaware

fnelson@udel.edu

Closed
7:00pm9:00pm Barrow Arctic Science Consortium, Science Management Advisory Committee Meeting

Bernie Zak, Sandia Labs

bdzak@sandia.gov

Open/Contact Organizer
Tuesday, 12 December 2006

7:00am–8:30am

Meeting Room Available    
9:00am12:00pm Ice Modeling Project Review Meeting

Matt Pruis, NWRA

matt@nwra.com

Contact Organizer
12:30pm2:00pm New Directions in Integrated Human Dimension Research

Maribeth Murray, UAF

ffmsm@uaf.edu

Open
2:30pm–4:00pm Meeting Room Available    
3:00pm–4:00pm Water Under Ice: Curiosities, Complexities, and Catastrophes (Moscone Center West, Room 3006) Presented by Gary K. C. Clarke, University of British Columbia Nye Lecture
4:30pm6:00pm Greenland Outlet Glaciers (IPY MARGINS)

Mark Fahnestock, UNH

mark.fahnestock@unh.edu

Tavi Murray, U. Wales Swansea

t.murray@swansea.ac.uk

Open
6:15pm7:45pm Cryosphere Reception (Marriott Hotel, Salon 7)    
7:00pm–9:00pm Meeting Room Available    
Wednesday, 13 December 2006
8:00am12:00pm IPY Data Policy and Management Subcommittee

Mark Parsons, NSIDC

parsonsm@nsidc.org

Contact Organizer
12:15pm–1:15pm Greenland IPY Space Science Symposium Steering Committee

Bob Clauer, Virginia Tech

rclauer@vt.edu

Mary McCready, SRI

mary.mccready@sri.com

Contact Organizers
1:30pm–4:00pm Greening of the Arctic/Biocomplexity Joint Meeting

Donald A. Walker, UAF

ffdaw@uaf.edu

Contact Organizer

5:00pm–7:00pm North Pole Environmental Observatory - IPY 2007

James Morison, APL - UW

morison@snark.apl.washington.edu

Open
7:15pm–9:00pm

US Permafrost Association

Annual Meeting

Frederick Nelson, U. of Delaware

fnelson@udel.edu

Open
Thursday, 14 December 2006
7:00am–9:00am Arctic-CHAMP SSC Meeting

Jonathan Pundsack, UNH

jonathan.pundsack@unh.edu

Contact Organizer
9:30am12:30pm Hydrologic Modeling in the Arctic: Linking TopoFlow to Other Models

Scott Peckham, INSTAAR

Scott.Peckham@colorado.edu

Contact Organizer
12:30pm1:30pm Climate Change: The Role of Science and the Media in Policy Making (Marriott Hotel, Salon 8) Presented by The Honorable Al Gore AGU Union Lecture
1:30pm–2:30pm IPY Education Projects Meeting

Katie Breen, ARCUS

breen@arcus.org

Contact Organizer
3:00pm–5:00pm Unmanned Aircraft Systems in the Arctic: Capabilities, Sensitivities and Applications

Betsy Weatherhead, NOAA

Betsy.Weatherhead@noaa.gov

Open
6:30pm8:00pm Town Meeting on Arctic Data Coordination Needs and Priorities

Laurie Hueffer, ARCUS

laurie@arcus.org

Open
Friday, 15 December 2006
8:00am–10:00am Yukon Climate-Effects Assessment and Monitoring Network

Peter Murdoch, USGS

pmurdoch@usgs.gov

Closed
12:30pm–8:00pm St. Elias Erosion and Tectonics Project Meeting (STEEP)

Terry Pavlis, UT El Paso

tlpavlis@utep.edu

Contact Organizer