PolarTREC Informational Webinar (Web Seminar) for Teachers & Researchers

Date: 
28 August 2013

PolarTREC Informational Webinar (Web Seminar) for Teachers & Researchers
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.

Tuesday, 3 September 2013 at 3:30-4:30 p.m. AKDT

For further information and to register to participate, please go to:
FOR RESEARCHERS: http://www.polartrec.com/researchers/webinar
FOR TEACHERS: http://www.polartrec.com/teachers/webinar

Or contact PolarTREC:
Email: info@polartrec.com
Phone: 907-474-1600

--------------------
Teachers and researchers interested in learning more about participating
in PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) are
encouraged to participate in an informational webinar (web seminar),
scheduled for Tuesday, 3 September 2013 at 3:30 p.m. Alaska Daylight
Time (4:30 p.m. PDT, 5:30 p.m. MDT, 6:30 p.m. CDT, 7:30 p.m. EDT).

The informational webinar will give an overview of the PolarTREC
program, its goals and objectives, program components, and the
application process; and will address frequently asked questions. The
webinar is scheduled to last one hour, but PolarTREC Project Managers
will stay online to answer all participant questions.

Participation in the webinar is free of charge, optional, and is not a
prerequisite for applying to the PolarTREC program. Anyone interested in
participating in the webinar should register at:
FOR RESEARCHERS: http://www.polartrec.com/researchers/webinar.
FOR TEACHERS: http://www.polartrec.com/teachers/webinar.

Instructions will be sent to all registered participants, and the
webinar will be archived and available online afterwards.

ABOUT THE PROGRAM

PolarTREC--a program of the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.
(ARCUS)--is a professional development program for educators, which
pairs teachers with researchers to improve science education through
authentic polar research experiences. The program integrates research
and education to produce a legacy of long-term teacher-researcher
collaborations, improved teacher content knowledge and instructional
practices, and broad public interest and engagement in polar science.

PolarTREC teachers will spend three to eight weeks in the Arctic or
Antarctic, working closely with researchers in the field as an integral
part of the science team. PolarTREC teachers and researchers will be
matched based on similar goals and interests, and teachers will be
trained to meet the program requirements prior to the field season.
While in the field, teachers and researchers will communicate
extensively with their colleagues, communities, and students of all ages
across the globe, using a variety of tools including online journals,
photos, other multimedia, and web-based seminars.

Teachers and research projects will be selected and matched to fill the
approximately 12-14 openings available. All major expenses associated
with teacher participation in PolarTREC field experiences are covered by
the program and program partners, including transportation to and from
the field site, food, lodging, and substitute teacher costs.

The application period for teachers and researchers to apply to
participate in PolarTREC began on Monday, 26 August 2013 and will end
Monday, 16 September 2013.

Past PolarTREC grants were funded by the National Science Foundation.
Final selection and program implementation is contingent on funding
approval for 2014-2015 field season.

Further information about PolarTREC, including program goals,
requirements, and frequently asked questions, is available at:
FOR RESEARCHERS: http://www.polartrec.com/researchers
FOR TEACHERS: http://www.polartrec.com/teachers

Or contact PolarTREC:
Email: info@polartrec.com
Phone: 907-474-1600