Now Accepting Applications - PolarTREC Teachers 2014-2015

Date: 
26 August 2013

Now Accepting Applications
PolarTREC Teachers 2014-2015
PolarTREC: Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.

Application Deadline: Monday, 16 September 2013, 5:00 p.m. AKDT

For further information, please contact PolarTREC at:
Email: info@polartrec.com
Phone: 907-474-1600

Apply at the PolarTREC website:
http://www.polartrec.com/teachers/application/2014

--------------------
PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently
accepting applications from teachers for the eighth year of teacher research
experiences. Teachers are invited to submit an application to participate in
field research learning experiences during the 2014 (usually Arctic) or
2014-2015 (usually Antarctic) field seasons.

More information and application forms are available at:
http://www.polartrec.com/teachers/application/2014.

ABOUT PolarTREC:

PolarTREC--a program of the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)--is a
professional development program for educators, which pairs teachers with
researchers to improve science education through authentic polar research
experiences. The program integrates research and education to produce a legacy
of long-term teacher-researcher collaborations, improved teacher content
knowledge and instructional practices, and broad public interest and engagement
in polar science.

PolarTREC teachers will spend three to eight weeks in the Arctic or Antarctic,
working closely with researchers in the field as an integral part of the science
team. PolarTREC teachers and researchers will be matched based on similar goals
and interests, and teachers will be trained to meet the program requirements
prior to the field season. While in the field, teachers and researchers will
communicate extensively with their colleagues, communities, and students of all
ages across the globe, using a variety of tools including online journals,
photos, other multimedia, and web-based seminars.

Teachers and research projects will be selected and matched to fill the
approximately 12-14 openings available. All major expenses associated with
teacher participation in PolarTREC field experiences are covered by the program
and program partners, including transportation to and from the field site, food,
lodging, and substitute teacher costs.

Past PolarTREC grants were funded by the National Science Foundation. Final
selection and program implementation is contingent on funding approval for
2014-15 field season.

APPLICATION PERIOD
The application period for researchers to apply to participate in PolarTREC will
begin on Monday, 26 August 2013 and end Monday, 16 September 2013.

POLARTREC INFORMATIONAL WEBINAR
Interested teachers are encouraged to participate in a PolarTREC informational
webinar (web seminar), scheduled for Tuesday, 3 September, at 3:30 p.m. Alaska
Daylight Time (4:30 p.m. PDT, 5:30 p.m. MDT, 6:30 p.m. CDT, 7:30 p.m. EDT).

For further information and to register to participate, please go to:
http://www.polartrec.com/about/teacher-webinar

Instructions will be sent to all registered participants. Participation in the
webinar is free, optional, and is not a prerequisite for applying to the
PolarTREC program.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Further information about PolarTREC, including program goals, requirements, and
frequently asked questions, is available at: http://www.polartrec.com/teachers

Or contact PolarTREC:
Email: info@polartrec.com
Phone: 907-474-1600